Clinical-Translational Research Advisory Committee

Clinical-Translational Research Advisory Committee (CTRAC) membership represents the research leadership of the entities that make up the Colorado Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute (CCTSI): SOM, CON, SOP, SOD, UCD downtown campus, National Jewish, both University and Children’s Hospitals, and the Regulatory Compliance/Clinical Research Support Center.

It meets quarterly and advises the Dean and the Vice Chancellor for Research on matters related to the conduct of patient-related and community-based research. Its other major mission is to educate members and their constituencies about activities, opportunities, and needs across the programs of the CCTSI and the AMC and to promote collaboration and exchange of ideas.

Over the last academic year CTRAC efforts have included framing possible responses to changes in NIH funding of the CCTSI, priorities for strengthening campus infrastructure for patient- and population-directed research, and improved collaborations across all components of the Anschutz Medical Campus and University of Colorado Denver.

CTRAC Initiatives in 2009-2016:

  • Decided on a campus-wide database of researchers and their interests.
  • Worked to improve Colorado Multiple Institutional Review Board (COMIRB) response time.
  • Led campus faculty in discussion of whether the School of Medicine should partner with DaVita Inc. as it develops a Phase 1 inpatient unit in the neighboring bioscience park.
  • Reviewed evaluation component of Colorado Clinial and Translational Sciences Institute (CCTSI), monitored social networking of CCTSI and principal investigators as a model for all Clinical and Translational Science Awards nationally.
  • Endorsed $2 million for Positron Emission Tomography - Computed Tomography (PET-CT ), $200,000 for genome sequencer and $150,000 for Standard Operation Procedures.
  • Supported initiation of REDCap Database for CCTSI.
  • Reviewed Research Retreat presentations/initiatives for the Dean, emphasizing those that would support translational research.
  • Reviewed access to library and on-line journals that are not available to Denver Health and Hospitals faculty or volunteer faculty.
  • Reviewed research activities of faculty in College of Nursing, School of Pharmacy, VA, and downtown UCD, and research support activities of University of Colorado Health and Children's Hospital Colorado, 2012-13.
  • In September 2015, Dean Reilly asked the committee to focus on several key issues. These include improving the research and administrative infrastructure on campus and developing regional collaboration for data sharing and integrate activities that require broad participation in support.
  • Over the past several years the committee has provided oversight in critical input into the CTSA grant under the direction of Dr. Ron Sokol. The five-year renewal was recently submitted.
  • At the end of 2015, the committee was involved in efforts to better integrate UCH and UCD which resulted in Tom Flaig appointed in the role of associate Dean for clinical research; representing a consolidated effort by the hospital and university to improve the research infrastructure.
  • In 2016 the committee workn 2016 the committee worked closely with the office of grants and contracts to provide investigator input on streamlining their activities.
  • The committee also was involved in the evaluation of OnCore, the research module of EPIC, COMPASS, and tissue banking.
  • Also in 2016 the committee evaluated proposal from the LITeS (Leadership in Team Science) group on Envisioning the Clinical/Translational Campus. 

CTRAC / CCTSI Internal Advisory Committee

William Hiatt, MD – Committee Chair 

Peter Buttrick, MD

David Badesch, MD

Robert (Bob) Damrauer, PhD

Greg Downey, MD

Anthony Elias, MD

Thomas (Tom) Flaig, MD

Amy Gannon

William (Bill) Hay Jr., MD

Lynn Heasley, PhD

Michael Kahn, MD, PhD

Wendy Kohrt, PhD

Alison Lakin, RN, PhD

Tim Lockie, MS, MBA

Daniel (Dan) Matlock, MD

Meredith Mealer, PhD

Peter Mourani, MD

David Ross, PhD

Jeanelle Sheeder, MSPH, PhD

Ron Sokol, MD

Karen Sousa, PhD 

Fred Suchy, MD

Richard Traystman, PhD

Steve Vannurden

Vanessa Valesquez – Agenda, Minutes, Scheduling