Capstone Awards 2022

Kristen Nadeau, MD, MS, Director of the Medical School Mentored Scholarly Activity (MSA) program, would like, on behalf of the MSA program, to thank all of the faculty who mentor medical students, and who helped judge student posters and contributed to making this year’s Capstone Event for our graduating Medical Students a great success. 

This year’s Mentor of the Year Award was awarded to Heather Cassidy, MD, Associate Professor, Internal Medicine, for her excellent mentoring skills with multiple nominations.

We would also like to congratulate the following graduating medical students and their mentors for the following awards:

  • Neil and Catherine Hamilton Award (For excellence in research by a senior student):
    Jessica Hall (mentor Virginia Borges. Oncology)
  • Joseph and Regina Glaser Research Prize (For superior research by a senior medical student):
    Alison Abele (mentor Steven Abman. Pediatrics)
  • Outstanding Medical Student Research on COVID-19:
    Abigail Leibowitz (mentor Brian Dwinnell. Internal Medicine) 

We would also like to congratulate the 2022 Capstone MSA Student Choice Presentation Winners, chosen by the first- and fourth-year students based on the highest individual presenter scores:

  • Phase I MSA Awards Student Choice Awards
    • Basic Biomedical Science: Alyssa Shepherd (mentors David Wagner, Martin Yussman) & Conan Chen (mentor John Lohmeier)
    • Bioethics, Humanities, Arts & Education: Oluwatosin Adebiyi (mentor Regina Richards) & Jessica Monishi (mentors Deb Seymour, Dominic Martinez)
    • Clinical Science: Katherine Belanger (mentor Ryan Ormond) & Brian Vu (mentor Jesse Hinckley)
    • Global Health: Nguyen Lu (mentor Yihan Lin) & Sarah Hirner (mentor Corey Bills)
    • Public Health & Epidemiology: Briana Tolbert (mentor Tyler Muffly) & Allison Moore (mentor Catherine Velopulos)

  •  Phase IV Student Choice Awards:
    • Basic Biomedical Science: Anika Suddath (mentors Cristina Sempio and Myron Yaster) & Pauline Hoosepian-Mer (mentor Diana Cittelly)
    • Bioethics, Humanities, Arts & Education: Alexander Linse (mentor Mark Reid) & Oluwatosin Adebiyi (mentor Regina Richards)
    • Clinical Science: Aaron Smoroda (mentor Nathan Clendenen) & Eniola Ogundipe (mentor Vijaya Vemulakonda)
    • Global Health: Kylie Van Hoesen (mentors Madiha Abdel-Maksoud and David Richards) & Taylor Davis (mentors Yihan Lin, R. Morton Bolman and Ceeya Bolman)
    • Public Health & Epidemiology: Hayley Specht (mentor Mark Deutchman) & James Tuttle (mentor Paul Harris)
CMS Login