Bridge Funding for Grant Lapses

The bridge funding program of the CU School of Medicine was established in 2006 when reductions in the National Institutes of Health (NIH) budget began to threaten the viability of faculty research projects. The programs purpose is to provide support to principal investigators while they re-apply for funding. The Bridge Funding Committee is advisory to the Dean. Applications are reviewed in April and November.

From the first review in 2006 through April 2015, 153 awards have been made to 124 faculty members in a total amount of $7.429 million. From the start through April 2014, 114 of these awardees, who received $6.6 million in bridging awards, have gained $87.8 million in total research dollars, an over 13.2-fold return on investment of bridge-funding grants.

Bridge Funding Application — Beginning Form →
Bridge Funding Application — Established Form →

Bridge Funding Committee

Peter Buttrick,  MD, Professor and Division Head, Division of Cardiology and Senior Associate Dean, Academic Affairs

John C. Cambier, PhD, Professor, Department of Immunology and Microbiology

Mair Churchill, PhD, Professor, Department of Pharmacology 

Nancy Hadley-Miller, MD, Professor, Department of Orthopedics

Wendy Kohrt, PhD, Professor, Medicine Division of Geriatrics

Edward L. Melanson, PhD, Professor, Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism, and Diabetes/Division of Geriatric Medicine

Raphael Nemenoff, PhD, Professor, Division of Renal Diseases and Hypertension 

Kurt Stenmark, MD, Professor and Section Head, Pediatric Critical Care Medicine