trek curr 1 1000

Medical Sciences 

Our new curriculum moves away from traditional medical education, with two years of basic sciences followed by two years of clinical training. Instead, the medical sciences are interleaved throughout the pre-clerkship phase, the clerkship phase, and the post-clerkship phase in order to help reinforce for our students the integral connection between the medical and clinical sciences. 

There are nine medical science content areas in the Trek curriculum: gross anatomy, embryology, histology, radiology, physiology, pathology, pharmacology, microbiology, immunology, biochemistry, cell biology, and genetics. These run longitudinally through the curriculum. 

Content Directors for Anschutz Medical Campus Students

Bruce McCollister, MD 
Content Director, Microbiology Content 
Medicine-Infectious Disease 
Bruce.McCollister@cuanschutz.edu

Aimee Bernard, PhD
Content Director, Immunology
Immunology & Microbiology 
Aimee.Bernard@cuanschutz.edu  

Nicole Draper, MD 
Content Director, Pathology 
Pathology 
Nicole.Draper@cuanschutz.edu

Danielle Royer, PhD
Content Director, Anatomy
Cell and Developmental Biology 
Danielle.Royer@cuanschutz.edu  

Tom French, PhD 
Content Director, Pharmacology 
Pharmacology 
Thomas.French@cuanschutz.edu

Jessica Duis, MD
Content Director, Genetics
Pediatrics-Angelman/Duplication 15q Clinic 
Jessica.Duis@cuanschutz.edu  

Michael Yeager, PhD 
Content Director, Biochemistry 
Pediatrics 
Michael.Yeager@cuanschutz.edu

Matt Zuckerman, MD
Content Director, Pharmacology
Emergency Medicine-Medical Toxicology and Pharmacology 
Matthew.Zuckerman@cuanschutz.edu  

Sarah Milla, MD       
Content Director, Radiology     
Radiology- Pediatrics       
Sarah.Milla@childrenscolorado.org

Content Directors for Fort Collins Branch Students

Greg Amberg, PharmD, PhD
Physiology, pharmacology, cell biology, biochemistry, therapeutics
Gregory.Amberg@colostate.edu

Tod Clapp, PhD
Aneuroanatomy, anatomy
Tod.Clapp@colostate.edu 

Jeff Wilusz, PhD
Microbiology, genetics
Jeffrey.Wilusz@colostate.edu 

Marcela Henao-Tamayo, MD, PhD
Immunology
Marcela.Henao_tamayo@colostate.edu

Ilana Kafer, MD
Ultrasound
Ilana.Kafer@cuanschutz.edu 

Mary Ann Degroote, MD
Infectious disease
Maryann.Degroote@colostate.edu 

Nicole Kelp, PhD
Ocology, endocrinology, genetics, cell biology, biochemistry
Nicole.Kelp@colostate.edu 

Elizabeth Ryan, PhD
Immunology, toxicology
E.P.Ryan@colostate.edu 

Zach Throckmorton, PhD
Anatomy, embryology, histology
Zach.Throckmorton@colostate.edu 

Mission statement

Students will learn the principles of diverse scientific disciplines – from anatomy to microbiology to pharmacology – in the context of organ system-based courses and in concert with clinical training. This facilitates students’ ability to apply scientific knowledge to patient cases in the classroom and the clinic.