Dean's Weekly Message

August 19, 2019

Dear colleague: 

The School of Medicine is currently engaged in a major effort to plan and launch a comprehensive new curriculum for the MD program. As we work toward a full launch in 2021, the team in the Office of Medical Education has created a curriculum reform website and launched a newsletter. Each newsletter will highlight questions that have been submitted so that we can reach all levels of the School of Medicine and provide an inclusive way to communicate with staff, students, and faculty. Please subscribe to to get up-to-date information. The School launched the curriculum review process with a retreat in October 2017, then tasked 25 committees to work on facets of the curriculum design that focused on pillars of Leadership, Curiosity, and Commitment. With the involvement of more than 200 people – faculty, students, and community members – our team has been preparing the updated curriculum. Details of the longitudinal structure of the new curriculum with descriptions of the phases are posted on the website. The team is now making the transition from big picture design to the detailed aspects of each phase of the education program. As part of that work, the team will be making visits to departments, divisions, and education groups to describe the plans and to hear from stakeholders about potential challenges. I encourage everyone to be part of this journey and I want to thank those who have already participated in this vital effort for our School.

The 44 members of the Class of 2022 in the School of Medicine’s Child Health Associate/Physician Assistant program received their white coats in a ceremony Friday, August 16, in the auditorium of Education 2 South. These students are joining a highly competitive program that is one of the best in the country. For this year’s class the program received 1,593 total applications. At the ceremony, Andrea Moon, MS, PA-C, graduate of the program in 2005, was honored as a distinguished alumna.

Private support for the CU Anschutz Medical Campus totaled $324.3 million for the year ending June 30, 2019. More than 6,600 benefactors gave to our University in support of the work we do. Their generosity allows us to seek cures, provide comfort, train health care professionals, and build a campus environment where we can achieve these goals. Your hard work and dedication are constantly on display in the laboratories, classrooms, and clinics, and in professional peer organizations and throughout our community. We are always focused on assembling a talented team of faculty and staff who are committed to improving the quality of life for individuals and our community. We are fortunate to have recognition and support from a growing number of benefactors and their gifts are a key measure of the inspiration you provide to the community. We, in turn, are grateful and inspired by our supporters and we are obliged to serve as responsible stewards of their gifts and their trust in us.

Last week, the Office of Advancement announced the establishment of the Edgar L., Patricia M. Makowski and Family Endowed Chair in Obstetrics and Gynecology, made possible with support from Edgar L. Makowski, MD, former chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, and his family. The School of Medicine is pleased to announce that T. Rajendra Kumar, PhD, associate vice chair of research in obstetrics and gynecology, has been named the inaugural recipient of the chair, which will support his research program focused on understanding the physiology and molecular biology of the reproductive axis in health and disease.

The current student members of the University of Colorado School of Medicine’s chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the national medical honor society, met recently to elect members of the senior medical school class. Based on academic performance, community service, scholarship, and leadership for each eligible applicant, 20 students in the Class of 2020 were selected for AOA membership, joining seven students in the class who were selected as juniors. The names of current junior and senior members are posted on the AOA website.  An induction ceremony is scheduled in May. Questions can be addressed to the AOA Councilor, James M. Beck, MD, professor of medicine,

A new initiative on the Anschutz Medical Campus to help pre- and postdoctoral trainees develop and submit applications for National Research Service Award (NRSA) Individual Fellowships (F30, F31 and F32) launched on Tuesday, August 13, with a workshop attended by more than 50 trainees. The initiative is funded by a three-year pilot grant from the University’s Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research. In addition to the workshop, the initiative offers trainee mentorship and a mock study section for pre-review of applications. Thanks to Mary Reyland, PhD, and Kristin Artinger, PhD, both professors of craniofacial biology in the School of Dental Medicine who hold joint appointments in the School of Medicine, and Bruce Mandt, PhD, director of the CU Denver | Anschutz Postdoctoral Office and Career Development Office, who are leading the initiative. To participate, contact  For more information see the Individual Fellowships page of the Career Development Office website.

Have a good week,

John J. Reilly, Jr., MD
Richard D. Krugman Endowed Chair
Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and
Dean, School of Medicine

The Dean’s weekly message is an email news bulletin from John J. Reilly, Jr., MD, Dean of the CU School of Medicine, that is distributed to inform University of Colorado School of Medicine faculty members, staff, students and others about issues pertaining to the School’s mission of education, research, clinical care and community service.  See the UCH-Insider →

If you would like to receive these emails directly, please contact  
To unsubscribe →

CMS Login