Dean's Weekly Message

May 8, 2017


Dear colleague: 

On Tuesday, May 2, the University hosted a reception at Fulginiti Pavilion to honor members of the faculty who have served for 25 years. I would like to thank the many talented faculty members who were recognized at the event. At the ceremony, Chancellor Don Elliman presented the faculty with commemorative medallions and said: “Our faculty—your talent—makes this place what it is. Over the last 25 years, you have revolutionized the field of healthcare. Only 18 years ago, virtually everything here today, except for Building 500, didn’t exist. You, quite literally helped build this campus from the ground up. I want to thank all of you for your many years of hard work and dedication to the University.” I join Chancellor Elliman in congratulating all the honorees for their contributions and dedication to the School of Medicine. 

Suzanne Brandenburg, MD, professor of medicine, has been accepted into the 2017-18 class of fellows for the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) Program. Suzanne is the second participant accepted into the program this year. Last month, the School of Medicine was notified that Margaret Wierman, MD, professor of medicine, had been accepted into the program and we received notice of Suzanne’s acceptance last week. The School of Medicine is fortunate to have many alumnae of this year-long fellowship for women faculty in schools of medicine, dentistry and public health. ELAM, a core program of the Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership at Drexel University College of Medicine in Philadelphia, is dedicated to developing the professional and personal skills required to lead and manage in today’s health care environment, with special attention to the challenges facing women in leadership positions. 

David Bekelman, MD, associate professor of medicine and a physician at the VA Eastern Colorado Health Care System, is one of the recipients of the Dean’s Masters Mentoring award from the Graduate School. The awards are selected by a committee of previous winners and are based on letters of nomination by students. Awardees are recognized at the Graduate School graduation ceremony. 

The third annual Junior Faculty Career Promotion Retreat is scheduled at 8 a.m. Friday, June 2, in the Krugman Conference Hall. This retreat will focus on key aspects of departmental and university-wide promotions and tenure issues and will provide a mock promotions review forum. Topics that will be covered include common misconceptions about promotion and tenure, how the promotions committee evaluates faculty, and issues affecting promotions at the departmental and university levels. RSVP online or

The Student Promotions Committee is seeking applicants to fill two vacancies effective July 1. This committee is composed of seven members representing clinical and basic science departments, one alumnus in community practice and one fourth-year medical student, as well as non-voting members including the Assistant Deans for Student Life, Associate Dean for Student Advocacy, and other education specialists. The committee meets five times per academic year for two hours each meeting (typically Wednesday afternoons), as well as emergency meetings as needed.  Terms are for three years, with the option to serve a second three-year term.  Faculty members who are block directors or otherwise directly responsible for assigning grades to students as part of the required curriculum are not eligible. If you are interested in joining the committee, please send your CV and a brief statement detailing your involvement in medical student education to the committee chair at by Friday, May 26.  The full committee will review all applications and select new members in June. 

Condolences to the family, friends and colleagues of Jules Amer, MD, who died on April 29, one week before his 93rd birthday. Jules came to Colorado in 1952 to study an outbreak of western equine encephalitis as one of the first Epidemiologic Intelligence Officers of the Centers for Disease Control. Throughout his career in pediatric practice, he maintained a close relationship with Children’s Hospital Colorado and the Department of Pediatrics of the University of Colorado School of Medicine. During his career, he served as Chief of Medicine, President of the Medical Staff and President of the Board of Directors of Children’s Hospital Colorado, and his leadership was instrumental in creating many of its programs, including infectious diseases and epidemiology, neonatology, pediatric intensive care, and the Children’s Hospital Research Center. In recognition of his many contributions, the Jules Amer Chair in Community Pediatrics was established to promote the health and well-being of all Colorado’s children. A public memorial for Jules is being planned. 

A memorial celebration in honor of Henry Claman, MD, Distinguished Professor of the University of Colorado, will be Wednesday, May 10, Fulginiti Pavilion for Bioethics and Humanities, from 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. Henry’s enduring legacy of scientific and humanistic accomplishment will be recognized at this public tribute. Organizers ask for RSVPs if you plan to attend:, 303-724-7198 or, 303-724-7193. 


Have a good week, 

John J. Reilly, Jr., MD
Richard D. Krugman Endowed Chair
Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and
Dean, School of Medicine


The Dean’s weekly message is an email news bulletin from John J. Reilly, Jr., MD, Dean of the CU School of Medicine, that is distributed to inform University of Colorado School of Medicine faculty members, staff, students and others about issues pertaining to the School’s mission of education, research, clinical care and community service.  See the UCH-Insider →


If you would like to receive these emails directly, please contact  
To unsubscribe →

CMS Login