Anesthesia Critical Care Medicine Fellowship


The University of Colorado Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Fellowship is an ACGME-approved program providing advanced knowledge, skills, and clinical experience in multidisciplinary critical care medicine. We offer 6 positions annually to candidates graduating from ACGME-approved Anesthesiology and Emergency Medicine residency programs.

The fellowship program is one-year in length for graduates of Anesthesiology residencies and two-years for graduates from Emergency Medicine residencies. All graduates are eligible for board certification in Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine upon completion of training. Fellows can additionally obtain National Board of Echocardiography (NBE) Certification in Transesophageal Echocardiography and Critical Care Echocardiography. 

Explore details of our fellowship program using the links below. For any questions, please contact the Program Director directly. 

Sarah Alber, MD


Sarah Alber, MD
Program Director, Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Fellowship
Program Director, Combined Anesthesiology & Critical Care Medicine Track
Assistant Professor of Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology & Critical Care Medicine
Department of Anesthesiology
University of Colorado – Anschutz Medical Campus
Email: sarah.alber@cuanschutz.edu

New Fellowship Opportunities!

Dual Critical Care/Cardiothoracic Fellowship

Choosing to receive training in both Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine (ACCM) and Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology (ACTA) is the right decision for many applicants. These fellowships provide complementary skillsets that are ideal for candidates looking for a career in academic anesthesiology practicing both cardiothoracic anesthesiology and critical care. Visit our Dual ACCM/ACTA page to learn more.

Dual Obstetric Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine Fellowship

For candidates passionate about improving high quality care for complex obstetrics patients in the peripartum and critical care settings, the University of Colorado is pleased to introduce a new two-year fellowship opportunity. The fellowship consists of two, 1-year ACGME accredited fellowships in Obstetric Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine. 

Anesthesiology (SOM)

CU Anschutz

Leprino Building

12401 East 17th Avenue

7th Floor

Aurora, CO 80045

CMS Login