Neuroradiology images



The mission of the Neuroradiology section at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus is to provide outstanding and innovative patient care, education, and research.

Patient Care

The Neuroradiology section performs more than 40,000 exams per year across a broad range of service areas including brain, spine, head and neck MRI and CT. We participate in numerous multi-disciplinary conferences, perform percutaneous spine interventions (Drs. Ashesh Thaker and Vincent Timpone), and CT-guided biopsies for complex head and neck lesions (Dr. David Zander, Chief of Head and Neck radiology). The section is capable of conducting a full-suite of task-based functional MRI, DTI, MR perfusion, and MR spectroscopy. We work closely with a team of dedicated 3-D post-processing technologists.


The Neuroradiology section participates in a full range of educational activities for fellows, residents and medical students. Activities include didactic lectures, case conferences, M&M, Journal Club, and mentorship on scholarly projects. We sponsor three Neuroradiology fellows each year through the ACGME accredited fellowship program. During the fellowship, participants gain advanced training in all aspects of adult neuroradiology, as well as focused training in pediatric neuroradiology and neuro-interventional procedures. Past fellows have pursued successful careers in both academics and private practice.


Our faculty members are actively involved in a range of research projects, including the application of quantitative neuroimaging methods to study multiple sclerosis, structural and functional imaging in dementia, movement disorders, brain tumors, and psychiatric disorders. The faculty are engaged in health services utilization research, process improvement, and appropriateness criteria projects. Faculty have access to a research-dedicated 3T Siemens Skyra, Philips CT/PET, and GE MR-PET (scheduled Fall 2020) and an array of software programs including SPM, FSL, FreeSurfer, NordicNeurolab, AFNI, and GIFT.



Tanabe, Jody (250 x 300)

Jody Tanabe MD

Section Chief
  • Radiology (SOM)


Mailing Address:
  • CU Anschutz

Research Complex II

12700 East 19th Avenue

Aurora, CO 80045

Department of Radiology

CU Anschutz

Leprino Building

12401 East 17th Avenue

Aurora, CO 80045


CMS Login