Dedicated to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the Health System

PSCCM DEI Committee Mission Statement

Health care systems are structurally biased against marginalized groups, whose members receive consistently inferior care and fewer opportunities compared with those in the majority. The Division of Pulmonary Sciences and Critical Care Medicine strives to create a more equitable hospital and academic environment that is inclusive and reflective of our society and addresses structural and inherent biases. We are creating a safe space for our colleagues, our patients and trainees, and empowering diversity with kindness, empathy and openness.


Committee Members

Dr. Matt Griffith

Matt Griffith, MD

Assistant Professor


Dr. Tristan Huie

Tristan Huie, MD

Associate Professor & PCCM Fellowship Director


Marjorie Patricia George

Marjorie Patricia George, MD

Associate Professor


Dr. Sonia Flores

Sonia Flores, PhD

Professor & DOM Vice-Chair of Diversity


Dr. Marc Moss

Marc Moss, MD



Cheryl Loudd

Cheryl Loudd

Business Services Program Manager


Dr. Claudia Mickael

Claudia Mickael, MD

Assistant Research Professor


Dr. Sunita Sharma

Sunita Sharma, MD, MPH

Associate Professor


Dr. Melissa New

Melissa New, MD

Assistant Professor



Alexandra McCubbrey, PhD

Assistant Professor

anuj mehta

Anuj Mehta, MD

Assistant Professor


David Badesch, MD

Professor & Interim Division Head

Atkins, Jake 03H

Jake Atkins

DEI Committee Administrative Support

DEI Special Sessions at PGR

Race and Ethnicity in PFT Interpretation: A Journal Club and Panel Discussion on the Recent PFT Guidelines Statement

Uncloaking the Invisible: Anti-Asian Racism Throughout History and Now

#HerTimeIsNow: Gender Discrimination and Sexual Harassment in Medicine

Battling the Boys Club: A History of Women's Challenges in Medicine

The Investment of Race and Races-Based Medicine

Is the Pulse Oximeter Racially Biased?