Faculty Academic Interests

Research Director: Adit Ginde, MD, MPH (Adit.Ginde@cuanschutz.edu)
Research Assistant Coordinator: Lani Finck (Lani.Finck@cuanschutz.edu)

* Faculty member likely to have active research projects
+ Project with active grant funding
Faculty MemberResearch Interests
Vik Bebarta, MD*
Vikhyat.Bebarta@cuanschutz.edu 
Marian (Emmy) Betz, MD, MPH* Marian.Betz@cuanschutz.edu
Barbara Blok, MD
Barbara.Blok@cuanschutz.edu
  • Wilderness medicine
Kelly Bookman, MD*
Kelly.Bookman@cuanschutz.edu
  • Electronic health record/clinical informatics
  • Ethics and professionalism
  • Operations/Administration
Joseph Brown, MD
Joseph.R.Brown@cuanschutz.edu
  • Ultrasound
  • Regional anesthesia
  • Airway management
  • Medical education
Vaughn Browne, MD, PhD
Vaughn.Browne@cuanschutz.edu
  • High altitude physiology
  • Ultrasound
Emilie Calvello Hynes, MD, MPH
Emilie.CalvelloHynes@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Global health
  • Lead for Global Emergency Care Initiative
  • Emergency care system development for LMICs
  • EM operations solutions for low resource settings
Dickson Cheung, MD, MBA, MPH
Dickson.Cheung@cuanschutz.edu
  • Digital Health Innovation/Telemedicine
  • Quality and safety
  • ED Operations
  • Global Health
Richard “Todd” Clark, MD
Richard.Clark@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Quality Improvement
  • ED Operations
Tracy Cushing, MD, MPH
Tracy.Cushing@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Wilderness medicine
Chris Davis, MD*
Chris.Davis@cuanschutz.edu
  • High altitude medicine/hypoxia
  • Adenosine pathways in acclimatization
  • Wilderness medicine
  • Telemedicine/virtual health
Julia Dixon, MD, MPH*
Julia.Dixon@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Global health
  • Education Director for Global Emergency Care Initiative
  • Emergency care system development for LMICs
Jeffrey Druck, MD*
Jeffrey.Druck@cuanschutz.edu
  • Medical education
  • Asthma
  • Patient assessment of emergency care
  • Diversity projects
Layne Dylla, MD*+ 
Layne.Dylla@cuanschutz.edu
  • ED and EMS Management of Acute Stroke
Benjamin Easter, MD, MBA
Benjamin.Easter@cuanschutz.edu
  • Space Medicine
  • Isolated, Confined, and Extreme Environments
  • Engineering and Medicine
Alex Ebinger, MD
Alexander.Ebinger@cuanschutz.edu
  • Sports medicine
  • Musculoskeletal ultrasound
  • Medical education
Col. Kathleen Flarity, NP
Kathleen.Flarity@cuanschutz.edu
  • Critical Care
  • Military medicine
Loren “Keith” French, MD
Loren.French@cuanschutz.edu
  • Medical Toxicology

Adit Ginde, MD, MPH*
Adit.Ginde@cuanschutz.edu
Foster Goss, DO, MMSc*
Foster.Goss@cuanschutz.edu 
Todd Guth, MD
Todd.Guth@cuanschutz.edu
  • Medical education
  • Team communication in emergency medicine
  • Assessment of clinical skills (physical exam, communication)
  • Clinical reasoning
Ben Hatten, MD, MPH*
Benjamin.Hatten@cuanschutz.edu
  • Multicenter toxicology+
  • Epidemiology of drug related death
  • Clinical polices/guideline development
  • Marijuana and drug abuse
Kennon Heard, MD, PhD*
Kennon.Heard@cuanschutz.edu
 
  • Prescription opioid abuse+
  • Cardiovascular poisoning
  • Geriatric EM
  • Drugs of abuse
  • Acetaminophen poisoning
Jason Hoppe, DO*
Jason.Hoppe@cuanschutz.edu 
 
Chris Hoyte, MD*
Chris.Hoyte@cuanschutz.edu
  • Sudden cardiac death
  • Toxicity of performance-enhancing drugs
  • Drug interactions/toxicology
Bonnie Kaplan, MD
Bonnie.Kaplan@cuanschutz.edu
  • Medical education
  • Gender difference in education
  • Medical student mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Innovative Curriculum Design
Bethany M. Kwan, PhD, MSPH 
Bethany.Kwan@cuanschutz.edu
  • Dissemination and implementation science
  • Pragmatic research
  • Social determinants of health and health equity
  • Mental & behavioral health
Jay Lemery, MD*
John.Lemery@cuanschutz.edu
  • Wilderness medicine
  • Climate change and human health+
  • Health and human rights
Anne Libby, PhD*
Anne.Libby@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Patient valuation of health care+
  • Gender differences in leadership/team communication
  • Professional development, leadership and mentoring
Daniel Lindberg, MD*
Daniel.Lindberg@cuanschutz.edu
Charlie Little, DO
Charles.Little@cuanschutz.edu
  • Disaster and pandemic flu preparedness and response
  • Global public health and disasters
  • Cardiac arrest
Steven Lowenstein, MD, MPH
Steven.Lowenstein@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Injury epidemiology and public health
  • Survey research
  • Medical education
Marlisa Mann, MD
Marlisa.Mann@cuanschutz.edu
  • Women's health
  • Health equity
  • Diversity and inclusion
Katherine Mayer, MD
Katherine.Mayer@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Critical Care
  • Post-cardiac arrest care
  • Palliative care
Christopher McStay, MD
Christopher.McStay@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Clinical operations
  • Wilderness medicine
  • Disaster preparedness
  • Patient safety and quality
Matt Mendes, MD
Matthew.Mendes@cuanschutz.edu
  • Telehealth
  • Observation Care
  • Airway
  • EMS
Sarah Michael, DO, MS
Sarah.Michael@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Use of technology in medical education
  • Curriculum development
  • Evaluation and assessment
Sean Michael, MD, MBA
Sean.Michael@cuanschutz.edu 
  • ED operations
  • Quality and patient safety
  • Analytics, informatics, and provider behavior change (especially around opioid prescribing)
Danielle Miller, MD 
Danielle.T.Miller@cuanschutz.edu
  • Competency based medical education
  • Gender disparities in medicine
  • Evaluation and assessment
  • Procedural training
Andrew Monte, MD*
Andrew.Monte@cuanschutz.edu
Nee-Kofi Mould-Millman, MD*
Nee-Kofi.Mould-Millman@cuanschutz.edu 
Martin Musi, MD
Martin.Musi@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Wilderness medicine
  • Medical education
Samantha Noll, MD
Samantha.Noll@cuanschutz.edu
  • Disaster Preparedness
  • Hospital Medicine
Kristen Nordenholz, MD, MSc*
Kristen.Nordenholz@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Venous thromboembolism
  • Anti-coagulation
  • Clinical algorithms
  • Provider wellness
Michael Overbeck, MD
Michael.Overbeck@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Asynchronous medical education
  • Emergency cardiology
Sarah Perman, MD, MS*
Sarah.Perman@cuanschutz.edu
Alex Quinones, MD 
Alexander.Quinones@cuanschutz.edu
  • Medical education
  • Observation care
  • Quality improvement
Elaine Reno, MD
Elaine.Reno@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Acute mountain sickness
  • Medical education
  • Wilderness education
Daniel Resnick-Ault, MD 

Daniel.Resnick-Ault@cuanschutz.edu

  • ED Operations
  • Human factors and team performance
  • Airway management
  • Disparities in emergency care
Matthew Salzberg, MD
Matthew.Salzberg@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Administration fellowship
  • ED operations
  • Process improvement
Marianne Wallis, MD
Marianne.Wallis@cuanschutz.edu
  • ARDS
  • Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation
  • Obstetric emergencies and critical care
Jacqueline Ward-Gaines, MD
Jacqueline.WardGaines@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Disaster medicine
  • Diversity and Inclusion
Jennifer Wiler, MD, MBA*
Jennifer.Wiler@cuanschutz.edu
  • ED operations
  • EM health policy
  • Quality/patient safety
Juliana Wilson, DO, MPH
Juliana.Wilson@cuanschutz.edu
  • Point-of-care ultrasound
  • Community health workers in the ED
Julie Winkle, MD
Julie.Winkle@cuanschutz.edu
  • Critical Illness
  • EM/Critical Care Collaboration
Angela Wright, MD: Prehospital Care*
Angela.Wright@cuanschutz.edu
  • Palliative care in the Prehospital Realm
  • EMS Systems and Quality Improvement 
Christina Yannetsos, MD
Christina.Yannetsos@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Concussion
  • Injury Prevention/Sports Medicine
  • Victims of Abuse in the ED
David Young, MD, MS, MS
David.S.Young@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Wilderness medicine
  • Race medicine
  • Disaster relief
Richard Zane, MD*
Richard.Zane@cuanschutz.edu
  • Disaster preparedness
  • ED operations
  • EM health policy
Matthew Zuckerman, MD
Matthew.Zuckerman@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Social media in medical education
  • Obesity
  • Toxicology