Annual Pediatric Residency Awards

At the end of each academic year, awards are given in the Pediatric Residency Program to trainees, faculty and medical staff who have demonstrated excellence and made outstanding contributions throughout the year. Descriptions of each award are detailed below.

Garber Award – Taylor Jones, MD

DH Senior Award – Shweta Bhatia, MD

Jason French Hospital Medicine Award – Alexandra Collell, MD

Health Justice, Advocacy & Equity Leadership Award – Keren Eyal, MD, MPH

Jules Amer Award – Clare Burchenal, MD

Gary Way Award – Julia Hudnut-Tanabe, MD

Outstanding Nurse Award – Wade Koontz, RN, BSN

Fellow's Teaching Award – Jessica Frelinger, MD

Outstanding Multi-disciplinary Team Member Award – Jim Brown, EdD

Resident Teaching Award – Lauren Aiello, MD, Molly Crenshaw, MD and Mariana Niño de Guzmán Ramírez, MD

Outstanding Community Partner Award – Ashley Cuber, JD
Garber Award
The Bruce Garber Memorial Award for Outstanding Senior Resident.
The untimely death of Dr. Bruce M. Garber on November 5, 1977 is memorialized by family, friends and colleagues with an annual award. It is presented to the senior resident who best displays Bruce’s love of life, medicine and especially children; who gives an effort to each patient as great as Bruce would have given, without question and without hesitation; who shows an ability to rise above adversity; and who has the attitude and concern, compassion and energy to achieve as Bruce would have aspired.

DH Senior Award
Given to a graduating resident who embodies the spirit of Denver Health and focuses on clinical care and the mission of our safety net hospital.

Jason French Hospital Medicine Award
The Jason French Hospital Medicine Award was established in honor of Dr. Jason French, who unexpectedly passed away in June of 2020. This annual award is presented by the Section of Hospital Medicine to a graduating resident who has demonstrated excellence in the care of hospitalized children, and who exemplifies Jason’s dedication to patient care, leadership, advocacy, unrivaled selflessness, support of one’s colleagues and inspiring work ethic. 

Health Justice & Advocacy Award
In the spring of 2021, graduating resident leaders in health justice, advocacy and equity approached program leadership to consider recognizing a resident or residents for extraordinary contributions in health justice and advocacy. We would like to acknowledge those residents now for their foresight in starting the process for this recognition. Thank you, alumni founders who inspired this award:  Ariel Porto, Alexis Ball, Nadia Hoekstra, Katelyn Soares and Kim Uchida. 

Jules Amer Award
Is given to a graduating resident who has consistently shown a commitment to providing comprehensive, quality primary care to his or her patients during their continuity practice afternoon each week. It goes to the resident who shows the highest level of commitment to his or her patient, providing continuity beyond the call of duty.   

Gary Way Award
Awarded to a full-time faculty physician for outstanding teaching and to honor and commemorate the life and accomplishments of Dr. Gary Way. This award was established to recognize and honor members of our full-time faculty who give more than they could possibly receive, who teach with honesty and sincerity, and who consistently put the needs of their students and house staff ahead of their own.  

Outstanding Nurse Award
Awarded to a clinical nurse in appreciation for outstanding care and exemplary teamwork.  

Fellow’s Teaching Award
Given to a fellow who demonstrates excellence in teaching house staff and students.  

Outstanding Multi-Disciplinary Team Member Award
Awarded to a non-physician team member who demonstrates clinical excellence and models collaboration in patient care.  

Resident Teaching Award
Every year, medical students are asked to nominate outstanding resident educators who go above and beyond in their commitment to supporting and teaching medical students.  

Outstanding Community Partner Award
In the spirit of recognizing those that have gone above and beyond in improving advocacy, equity and justice within our communities, the Outstanding Community Partner Award is given to an organization whose core mission is to improve the health and safety of the patients and families that we serve.
CMS Login