Office of Community Outreach & Engagement


The University of Colorado Cancer Center has a long-standing history of commitment to advocacy, education, outreach and engagement throughout the state of Colorado. Our community partnerships and programs identify and address barriers to cancer health equity and improve outcomes in underserved areas of Colorado, including urban and rural areas across the state. Working together with new and existing organizations, we: 

  • Identify needs and emerging concerns regarding cancer incidence and survival throughout the state 
  • Expand awareness and improve access to cancer services, treatment and clinical trials 
  • Provide up-to-date information and community-based screening programs to reduce cancer risk and increase early detection 
  • Identify the social and economic challenges in underserved areas of the state that limit access to state-of-the-art cancer care 
  • Develop educational resources to improve health decision making to decrease cancer risk 
  • Advocate for public policy changes to ease the burden of cancer 
  • Support healthy lifestyle changes to reduce cancer risk ‚Äč
people gathered outside around a table
CUA_campus_007_0852

Reducing Cancer Disparities in Colorado

In 2020, the CU Cancer Center launched five studies that are focused on addressing disparities in care and outcomes for Black and Hispanic communities in Colorado.

Contact Us

Daniel Pacheco, MBA, PMP
Program Manager
Daniel.Pacheco@CUAnschutz.edu

Carlo Caballero, LPC, CCM
Bilingual Patient Navigator
Carlo.Caballero@cuanschutz.edu

Chris Jones, MPH
Senior Community Outreach and Engagement Coordinator
Christopher.2.Jones@cuanschutz.edu

Sindy Gonzalez, MPH
Senior Community Outreach and Engagement Coordinator
Sindy.Gonzalez@cuanschutz.edu

Cydney Jardine, MPH
Data Analyst
Cydney.Jardine@ucdenver.edu

Lexi Lewis, MPA
Administrative Coordinator
Lexi.Lewis@cuanschutz.edu