Our History

Since our humble beginnings with two students, two professors and two rooms on the University of Colorado (CU) campus in Boulder in 1883, the Department of Medicine (DOM) has come a long way.

As the largest department within the School of Medicine, we represent more than 1,000 faculty members, 176 residents, and approximately 132 fellows. With more than $126M in current research funding, we are consistently among the top 25 departments of medicine in National Institutes of Health research funding. Our Division of Pulmonary Sciences and Critical Care is ranked among the best in the nation by U.S. News and World Report, with several other divisions also achieving national ranking.

We are privileged to be housed at the 540-acre state-of-the art Anschutz Medical Campus in Aurora, the nation’s first medical campus built from the ground up to combine education, research and patient care, and the only academic health center in the Rocky Mountain region.

Under the leadership of our chair, Vineet Chopra, MBBS, MD, MSc, we are bridging the gap between cutting-edge research and clinical care to transform medicine into a more targeted, personalized practice. Here’s how far we have come.

The Early Years: 1883-1932

The Waring Years: 1930-1950

The Meiklejohn Years: 1951–1975

The Schrier Years: 1976–2002

The Anderson Years: 2002–2010

University of Colorado Hospital, Fitzsimons Campus in 2007. Credit: University of Colorado. 

The Schwartz Years: 2011–2021

2016–17 University of Colorado Department of Medicine faculty and housestaff. Credit: University of Colorado Department of Medicine

Current Chair of Medicine: Vineet Chopra, MBBS, MD, MSc: 2021–Present

Sources: “History of the Department of Medicine: 1933–1985” edited by Gordon Meiklejohn, MD and Charley Smyth, MD. “The University of Colorado School of Medicine: A Centennial History 1883–1983, and “The University of Colorado School of Medicine Millennial History,” edited by Henry Claman, MD and Robert Shikes, MD.

Department of Medicine (SOM)

CU Anschutz

Academic Office One

12631 East 17th Avenue


Aurora, CO 80045


CMS Login