Edmundowicz Award Winner

Quarterly Division Newsletter

Click on the links below to view the recent happenings within the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology.

January 2024 Newsletter

Division News

Congratulations to Dr. Lisa Forman for her induction in the DOM Clinical Excellence Society!

It gives us great pleasure to announce that Dr. Sean Colgan has been selected to receive the prestigious CU Anschutz Research Mentor Award. Dr. Colgan is the Joel Levine-Fred Kern, Jr. Professor of Medicine and Associate Division Head of Research for Gastroenterology and Hepatology at the University of Colorado. He was nominated by faculty and research mentees in our division and was selected from many other nominees across campus.  Importantly, Dr. Colgan has directly mentored 50 MD, PhD or MD/PhD students and fellows across the world, 39 of whom remain actively engaged in academia. Of these fellows, 33 have external funding and 14 currently hold RO-1-equivalent grants. Additionally, Dr. Colgan is the primary mentor for six fellows/junior faculty members actively funded with Career Development Awards for the NIH, VA, or Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation.


Katherine Dickerman, NP, was recognized with a UCHealth Annual Medical Staff Award when she was awarded the Medical Staff Leadership Award. Congratulations, Katie!

Steven Edmundowicz, M.D. has been awarded the prestigious Anschutz Acceleration Initiative (AAI) Grant  for his project, “Transforming Gastrointestinal Cancer Care from Inpatient Surgery to Outpatient Endoscopy by Enabling Third Space Endoscopy”. This was a selective process that awarded investigators at the cutting edge of innovation.

The University of Colorado Board of Regents approved six new Distinguished Professors, the highest honor CU bestows on its own faculty members. With these additions, only 144 professors have been so honored since 1977 when the title was established. Distinguished Professors have demonstrated distinguished performance in scholarly or creative work, excellence in promotion of learning and student attainment of knowledge and skills, and outstanding leadership and service to the profession and to the university. Among the six new Distinguished Professors is one professor from the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology:

Sean Colgan, PhD, professor of medicine and Joel Levine-Fred Kern Jr. Chair in IBD Research. Dr. Colgan’s lab studies mucosal inflammation with a focus on intestinal inflammation and his work has improved understanding of drug resistance in cancer, how the microbiome influences host immunity, the impact of microbial metabolic products on mucosal injury and wound repair, and how inflammation may affect gut motility and cellular health in colonic disorders such as Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis.

Congratulations, Dr. Colgan!

Congratulations to Dr. Steven Edmundowicz who is being honored with a prestigious Crystal Award from the ASGE for: Distinguished Endoscopic Research Mentoring! - Crystal Awards 2023 by the American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy!

Team 3: Mechanisms of immune protection and pathology by lymph node stromal cells lead by Dr. Tamburini was selected for the ASPIRE award. The team builds on established collaborations between CU Anschutz investigators (Tamburini, Morrison, Guthmiller, and Hesselberth) to (i) define mechanisms of interplay between LNSCs and immune responses, (ii) understand how viruses co-opt LNSCs to thwart immune responses, (iii) determine the consequences of antigen retention by LNSCs to B cell and T cell responses, and (iv) develop and apply the latest molecular tools to understand LNSC heterogeneity and function. The approaches will synergize to yield an in depth understanding of the consequences of LNSCs to immunity following infection and immunization.

Congratulations to Dr. Sachin Wani who is leading a study to test the effectiveness of a novel diagnostic tool to improve detection of early esophageal cancer! Dr. Wani has also received the ASGE Distinguished Endoscopic Research Mentoring Award - Crystal Awards 2022 by the American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy!

Awards & Accomplishments

UCHealth University of Colorado Hospital (UCH) ranked as the No. 1 hospital in Colorado for the 11th year in a row in the U.S. News & World Report rankings of hospitals, which were released last week. In specialty categories, UCH was nationally ranked in five categories: Diabetes and Endocrinology, No. 34; Ear, Nose and Throat, No. 47; Gastroenterology and GI Surgery, No. 43; Pulmonology and Lung Surgery (ranked jointly with National Jewish Health), No. 2; and Rheumatology, No. 11.


Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology

CU Anschutz

Academic Office One

12631 East 17th Avenue


Aurora, CO 80045

CU Anschutz

Anschutz Outpatient Pavilion

1635 North Aurora Court

Aurora, CO 80045

CMS Login