Shared Content Block:
directory-table class

Shared Content Block:
"Spread Out" style for numbered lists and bullet points

Welcome to Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

Julia Promisel Cooper -- 500 x 600

Julia Promisel Cooper, Chair

As biochemists and molecular geneticists, we are in the midst of an unprecedented time of discovery - our conception of the molecular biology of cells is going from the equivalent of grainy black-and-white to high-resolution technicolor. From deciphering the choreography of transcription complexes, chromosomes and RNA molecules within cells to developing novel approaches to 3D molecular structure determination to understanding how viruses hijack a cell’s machinery and alter its metabolome, the researchers in Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics (BMG) are at the forefronts of their fields both conceptually and technologically.

Maximal synergy and depth of thinking require an open, vibrant research environment in which people of all backgrounds thrive. We are passionately devoted to enhancing diversity and upholding uncompromised equity and anti-racism. These principles, along with the close proximity of BMG to other outstanding basic and clinical departments as well as several hospitals, vastly enhance our opportunities for collaboration and translation of paradigm-shifting basic discoveries to the clinic and beyond.

Research Areas

Highlighted Recent Publications

Pre-mRNA splicing and its co-transcriptional connections
Hossein Shenasa & David Bentley - May 2023 - Trends in Genetics

The molecular mechanism of sialic acid transport mediated by Sialin
Wenxin Hu & Hongjin Zheng - January 2023 - Science Advances

Proteolytic activation of human-specific Olduvai domains by the furin protease
Ashley Pacheco, Aaron Issaian, & Sikela & Hansen Labs with Vogeli Lab - January 2023 - Int J Biol Macromol

Structure and Formation of Z-DNA and Z-RNA
Jeffrey Krall, Parker Nichols, Morkos Henen, Quentin Vicens, & Beat Vogeli - January 2023 - Molecules

A single N6-methyladenosine site regulates lncRNA HOTAIR function in breast cancer cells
Allison Porman Swain & Johnson Lab - November 2022 - PLoS Biol

» More Publications

More Information

Outdoor sphere sculpture on CU Anschutz campus

Prospective Postdoctoral Scholars


Outdoor sculpture on CU Anschutz during the fall

Prospective Graduate Students

Hands on table

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion


News Announcements

Congratulations to all recent facultypostdoc, and graduate student awardees!

hesselberthJayOct 2023
Jay Hesselberth and Kim Jordan received a SIRC award to purchase a Xenium Analyzer from 10x Genomics.
Angelo D'AlessandroSept 2023
Along with the University of Pittsburgh, The D'Alessandro lab has just been awarded a multi-PI 24.7 million dollar contract with BARDA for the project entitled "Massive Transfusion in Children - MATIC 2.0".
Hoag_Bridget_2021Sept 2023
Bridget Hoag, DeGregori Lab, received a Cancer Innovation Pilot Award from the UCCC!
Matt Taliaferro -- 500 x 600

Sept 2023
Matt Taliaferro received an NIH R01 award!

Angelo D'AlessandroSept 2023
Angelo D’Alessandro was highlighted in the CUAnschutz 360 podcast with Dr. Tom Flaig!
Catherine Musselman -- 500 x 600July 2023
Cat Musselman received an NIH MIRA renewal award!
hesselberthJayJuly 2023
Jay Hesselberth received a CLC award with Dr. van Dyk (Immunology)!
Angelo D'AlessandroJuly 2023
The D'Alessandro Lab just got awarded their fifth ongoing R01 by the title "Investigating metabolic responses to high sugar diets and the onset of diabetic phenotypes" (NIDDK)!
Srinivas Ramachandran -- 500 x 600July 2023
Srinivas Ramachandran received a CLC award with Dr. Hayashi (AMC Pediatrics)!
Angelo D'AlessandroJuly 2023
Angelo D’Alessandro has been inducted into the Hall of Fame of the Association for Advancement of Blood and Biotherapies!
Quentin VicensJuly 2023
Quentin Vicens received a CLC award!
Shi Biao (Wyatt) ChiaJuly 2023
Wyatt Chia, DeGregori Lab, received a CLC award!
johnsonAaronJune 2023
The Johnson Lab received an R21 from the National Cancer Institute!
MAP ProgramJune 2023
The MAP Scholar program was highlighted in CUAnschutz Today!
Srinivas Ramachandran -- 500 x 600May 2023
Srinivas Ramachandran received a 2023 AB Nexus Award with Dr. Palmer (CU Boulder)!

Angelo D'Alessandro

Travis Nemkov

May 2023
Metabolomic research by Angelo D’Alessandro and Travis Nemkov was highlighted in CU Anschutz Today and!
Zhongyou LiMay 2023
Zhongyou Li, Jagannathan Lab, has been awarded a grant from the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation!
 » More News