TIGRR Faculty & Mentors

Possible Mentors

Michael Boninger, MD
Endowed Professor and Vice Chair for Research,
Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Senior Medical Director for Post-Acute Care,
UPMC Health Services Division
Vice President for Medical Affairs,
UPMC Community Provider Services

Daniel M. Corcos, PhD
Professor of Physical Therapy and Human Movement Sciences
Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University

Diane L. Damiano, PT, PhD, FAPTA
Tenured Senior Investigator
NIH Intramural Research Program

Edelle (Edee) Field-Fote, PT, PhD, FAPTA
Director, Spinal Injury Research, Shepherd Center
Professor, Emory University School of Medicine
& Professor of the Practice, Georgia Institute of Technology

James Finley, PhD
Associate Professor
Division of Biokinesiology and Physical Therapy
University of Southern California

Mary K. Hastings, PT, DPT, MSCI, ATC
Professor, Program in Physical Therapy
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Washington University School of Medicine

Allen Heinemann, PhD, ABPP, FACRM
Director, Center for Rehabilitation Outcomes Research
Professor, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Feinberg School of Medicine,
Northwestern University

Ayanna Howard, PhD
Linda J. and Mark C. Smith Professor
Chair, School of Interactive Computing
Georgia Institute of Technology

Teresa Jacobson Kimberley, PhD, PT
Professor, Interim Director of the Rehabilitation Science PhD Program
School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
MGH Institute of Health Professions

Lisa M. McTeague, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Medical University of South Carolina

MJ Mulcahey PhD, OTR\L, FASIA
Director, Center for Outcomes and Measurement
Professor, Occupational Therapy, Jefferson College of Rehabilitation Sciences
Professor, Rehabilitation Medicine, Sidney Kimmel Medical College
Thomas Jefferson University

Emily Myers, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences, Department of Psychology
Co-Director: Cognitive Neuroscience of Communication Training Program
University of Connecticut

Monica Perez, PT, PhD
Scientific Chair, Arms + Hands Lab, Shirley Ryan AbilityLab
Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Northwestern University

Eric J. Perreault, PhD
Professor and Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Northwestern University 

Alice Ryan, PhD
Professor of Medicine
University of Maryland School of Medicine
VA Senior Research Career Scientist (RR&D)

William Z. Rymer, MD, PhD
Director, Single Motor Unit Laboratory
Shirley Ryan AbilityLab
Professor, Departments of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation,
Physiology, and Biomedical Engineering
Northwestern University

Robert L. Sainburg, PhD, OTR/L
Professor of Kinesiology and Neurology
Penn State University

Richard (Rick) L. Segal, PT, PhD, FAPTA
Chair and Professor, Department of Rehabilitation Sciences
College of Health Professions
Medical University of South Carolina 

Elizabeth Skidmore, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA, FACRM
Professor and Chair, Occupational Therapy
Associate Dean of Research,School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
University of Pittsburgh

Beth A. Smith, PT, DPT, PhD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics,
Developmental Neuroscience and Neurogenetics Program,
The Saban Research Institute
Division of Research on Children, Youth, and Families,
Children's Hospital Los Angeles
Department of Pediatrics, Keck School of Medicine, 
University of Southern California
Director, Infant Neuromotor Control Laboratory

Richard Souza, PT, PhD
Vice Chair for Research
Department of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science
University of California San Francisco

Kat M. Steele, PhD
Associate Professor
Mechanical Engineering
University of Washington

Kris Tjaden, PhD, CCC-SLP
Sr. Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, College of Arts and Sciences
Fellow, American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA)
Professor, Department of Communicative Disorders and Sciences
University at Buffalo

Possible Biostatisticians

Matthew J. Gurka, PhD
Professor and Associate Chair of Education, Department of Health Outcomes and Biomedical Informatics
Associate Director, Institute for Child Health Policy, College of Medicine
University of Florida

Charity G. Patterson, PhD, MSPH
Director, SHRS Data Center
Professor, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
University of Pittsburgh

Lauren Terhorst, PhD
Co-Director, SHRS Data Center
Professor, Department of Occupational Therapy, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
University of Pittsburgh

Funding Agencies

Toyin Ajisafe, PhD
Health Scientist Administrator
National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research (NCMRR) NIH

Joe Bonner, PhD
Program Officer
National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research (NCMRR), NIH
Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)

Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI)

National Institute on Aging (NIA), NIH

National Institutes of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS), NIH

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging & Bioengineering (NIBIB), NIH

National Institutes of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS), NIH

National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR)

National Science Foundation (NSF)

CDMRP, Department of Defense (DOD)

Craig H. Neilsen Foundation