Research Faculty

Michael Harris-Love PT, MPT, DSc, FGSA, Program Director, Professor

Michael Harris-Love PT, MPT, DSc, FGSA

Program Director, Professor Assoc Dean-Physical Therapy
  • Dean's Office (SOM)
  • Physical Therapy (SOM)


Mailing Address:
  • CU Anschutz

Education II South

13121 East 17th Avenue

Aurora, CO 80045

  • Associate Dean, Physical Therapy Education, School of Medicine
  • Joanne Posner-Mayer Endowed Chair in Physical Therapy
  • Health Scientist, Geriatric Research, Education and Clinical Center (GRECC), VA Eastern Colorado Health Care System 
  • Director, Muscle Morphology, Mechanics, and Performance Laboratory
Teaching Responsibilities

RHSC 7001: Rehabilitation Science Seminar, Co-Instructor
DPTR 5202: Examination & Evaluation II, Lecturer

DPTR 7112: Applied Exercise Science, Lecturer

Areas of Expertise

Geriatric physical therapy, muscle disease, autoimmune disorders

Education, Licensure & Certifications

Georgetown University/Children’s National Hospital
Post-Doctoral Fellowship, 2010

University of Indianapolis
Doctor of Health Science, 2004

Mayo School of Health Sciences
Masters of Physical Therapy, 1997

Northern Arizona University
BS in Exercise Science, 1995



Gerontological Society of America (GSA) Health Sciences Fellow, 2019

APTA Eugene Michaels New Investigator Award, 2019 

Training in Grantsmanship for Rehabilitation Research (TIGRR), National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research (NCMRR), NIH (T15), Medical University of South Carolina, 2019

Dale Shaffer Outstanding Alumnus Award, Mayo Clinic Physical Therapy Alumni Association, 2017

VA Historically Black College and University Research Scientist Training Award, VA/ORD/RR&D (CDA-2, IK2RX001854), 2014-2019

Butler-Williams Scholar, National Institute on Aging, NIH (inaugural class), 2013

Fellowship Award, DC Clinical Research Training Consortium, Georgetown University/Children’s National Hospital, NIH/NCRR, (Grant number: 5K30RR022272), 2008-2010

United States Bone and Joint Decade: Young Investigator Initiative Fellowship Award, 2006-2007

Award for Academic Excellence, Krannert School of Physical Therapy, University of Indianapolis (Doctoral thesis award), 2004

Special Act Award, Rehabilitation Medicine Department, NIH Clinical Center, 1994, 2004

Distinguished Alumni Award, College of Health Professions, Northern Arizona University, 1998

Erik J. Aasen Award, Physical Therapy Program, Mayo School of Health Sciences, 1997

Minorities in Medicine Scholar, Jay and Rose Phillips Foundation, Mayo Foundation, 1996-97

Exercise Science Graduate of the Year, College of Health Professions, Northern Arizona University, 1995