Welcome to the Medical Physics Residency Program, located on the CU Anschutz Medical Campus. Our program is a two-year journey that emphasizes professional and clinical quality work in radiation oncology physics. The program began in 2012, the first in the Rocky Mountain Region, and is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Medical Physics Education Programs (CAMPEP). I hope you find everything you need here to help you begin your work with us. Should you have additional questions, please feel free to reach out.

                                            - Leah Schubert, Ph.D. DABR, Associate Professor and Program Director

Program Goals

We provide structured training in all broad areas of clinical radiation oncology physics.  Residents become integral team members in the Department of Radiation Oncology and interact closely with faculty and staff.  The overall goal of the program is to prepare the resident for a professional career in radiation oncology physics.  We provide hands-on clinical training, as well as preparation for the board certification examination.

Program Structure

The Medical Physics Residency Program is a two-year program, during which the resident will complete a series of requirements including eight clinical rotations. The resident will be mentored by one faculty physicist for each rotation.  The rotation mentor, along with two additional physicists, form a team that is responsible for the resident’s progress through the rotation.  However, because the physics group works closely together, the resident will interact with numerous physicists at any given time.

In order to strive to provide the highest quality training experience, we believe that education programs need to continuously evolve and innovate.  Feedback about the program is constantly sought, especially feedback from residents, in order to continue to raise the program to the next level of excellence.





Interview Dates Announced

We're happy to announce our interview dates for the 2021 recruiting season! You'll fine the full list of relevant dates below.

December 3, 2020 - Application Deadline
January 7 and 8, 2021 - Virtual Screening Interviews
February 5 and 9, 2021 - Virtual Interviews

Our applications are now open! All applications must be received through AAPM's MP-RAP system. Our program will be participating in the match system as well. A full list of our admission requirements can be found here.

AAPM Virtual Residency Fair

We will be participating at the 2020 AAPM Virtual Residency Fair Fridays! For more information, please visit AAPM's page on the event. Our program will be available on each of the Fridays with a variety of representatives from the university and the program. A complete schedule of our availability is below (please note that times are listed in EDT):

  • September 4th: 2pm - 3pm EDT
  • September 11th: 6pm - 7pm EDT
  • September 18th: 6pm - 7pm EDT
  • September 25th: 1pm - 2pm EDT

Come say hello and learn more about our program and beautiful Colorado! We look forward to meeting you!


Recruitment Goes Virtual

In accordance with GME at the University of Colorado, the Medical Physics Residency Program will be conducting recruitment virtually this year. We are hard at work converting our recruitment procedures to accommodate this change and to ensure that all candidates can gain as much information as possible about our program, campus, and state. More to come soon!

Contact Us

Program Director
Leah Schubert, Ph.D. DABR

Program Coordinator
Connor McCloskey
P: 720-848-0116
F: 720-848-0222

1665 Aurora Court
Suite 1032
Aurora, CO 80045