Division of Ophthalmic Epidemiology


Dr. LynchThe Division was founded in January 2014 under the direction of Anne Lynch MD, MSPH. Dr. Lynch has created an infrastructure to conduct research in many areas including Retinopathy of Prematurity (ROP),
[Age-Related Macular Degeneration (AMD), retinal detachment, cataract, uveitis, glaucoma, dry eye, and oculoplastics. Her team includes an epidemiologist, statistician, a research study coordinator and three professional research assistants. Within this new Division she has established the Colorado Retinopathy of Prematurity (CO-ROP) research group and a similar research group for AMD and retinal detachment.
Registries are now established in ROP, AMD, cataract, and retinal detachment. She is engaged in establishing a solid epidemiological program in the department and is working with faculty fromother ophthalmic subspecialties.

Importantly, Dr. Lynch is encouraging a strong group of mentees to pursue research in Ophthalmology. The Division has supported research presented at over 60 national and local ophthalmology meetings.

WagnerDr.Lynch CV

Link to Publications, PubMed             

Research Interests:

Links between intra-uterine events and Retinopathy of Prematurity (ROP) 
The role of proteomics in ocular diseases   

Brandie Wagner, PhD, biostatistician (left)