"Climate medicine is still a new concept in clinical care, and at the CU School of Medicine we are defining it."

Our faculty are clinical experts on climate change and human health with a concentration unsurpassed among academic centers.

We are leaders in the field, deeply connected with climate and health organizations throughout the country, and we are innovators in our educational programs.

The CU School of Medicine Climate & Health Program utilizes education, research, service and partnerships to help build a sustainable community that's committed to climate health.

Our Mission

The mission of the Climate & Health Program is to further understanding of the impacts of climate change on human health and to be credible advocates of smart policy that addresses the climate crisis and advances human dignity in the same effort. We aspire to be the home of climate medicine.

Commitment to Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

The Climate & Health Program is committed to diversity of its faculty, students, fellows and partners. We embrace the collective and individual talents, skills and perspectives of each member of our team to help make a positive impact on climate health and the world.




Rosemary Rochford, PhD

  • Professor, Immunology and Microbiology
  • Co-Director, Climate & Health Program


Jay Lemery, MD

  • Professor, Emergency Medicine
  • Co-Director, Climate & Health Program

Ceci Sorensen

Ceci Sorensen, MD

  • Co-Director, National Physician Fellowship in Climate Medicine

Advisory Board


Henry Diaz

Henry Diaz

  • Affiliate Faculty, Geography and Environment, University of Hawai’i at Mānoa

Rick Johnson

Rick Johnson, MD

  • Tomas Berl Professor, Medicine, University of Colorado School of Medicine


Mary Hayden

  • Research Professor, National Institute for Human Resilience, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs


Kris Karnauskas

  • Associate Professor, Atmospheric and Oceanic Science, University of Colorado, Boulder

Lee Newman

Lee Newman, MD, MA

  • Distinguished Professor and Director, Center for Health, Work and Environment, Colorado School of Public Health

Balaji Rajagopalan

Balaji Rajagopalan, PhD

  • Professor and Chair, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering, University of Colorado, Boulder

CU School of Medicine GME Fellow in Climate & Health Science Policy


Hanna Linstadt

Hanna Linstadt, MD

  • 2020-2021

Stefan Wheat MD

Stefan Wheat, MD

  • 2021-2022

National Physician Fellowship in Climate Medicine (2021-22)


eric balban md

Eric Balaban, MD


Bhargavi Chekuri, MD


Beth Gillespie, MD


Emily Sbiroli, MD

Past Fellows


Caitlin Rublee

Caitlin Rublee, MD

  • Assistant Professor, Emergency Medicine
  • Medical College of Wisconsin


Ceci Sorensen, MD

  • Co-Director, National Physician Fellowship in Climate Medicine