Dr. Kam with Transplant Fellows and Staff

Thank you for your interest in the University of Colorado Transplant Surgery Fellowship Program. Congratulations on taking the next step to becoming a Transplant Surgeon!

The University of Colorado School of Medicine and the Division of Transplant Surgery are proud to provide a two-year Transplant Fellowship Program accredited by the American Society of Transplant Surgeons (ASTS). Our program is currently set up to train one fellow for two years.

The purpose of the fellowship is to expose and educate a qualified surgeon to the surgical techniques of solid-organ transplantation encompassing procurement and pre/post transplants.

Our program involves a multidisciplinary team approach dedicated to high-quality, patient-focused transplantation. Members of our team include transplant surgeons, hepatologists, nephrologists, anesthesiologists, pathologists, transplant nurses and coordinators, financial coordinators, transplant administrators, social workers, and other professionals who specialize in transplantation. This integrated approach ensures the highest level of care and has given us a competitive advantage improving our clinical outcomes.

Additionally, the Division of Transplant Surgery supports an academic research component. We continue our ongoing development and assessment in techniques with live-donor liver transplant. Since 1994, this program has successfully calibrated many surgeons in completing the two-year fellowship program.

In order to qualify for the University of Colorado Transplant Surgery Fellowship position, please take time to carefully read what is required.

The Fellow must:

  • Be a U.S. Citizen, lawful permanent resident, refugee, asylee, or possess the appropriate documentation to allow the Fellow to legally train at the University of Colorado School of Medicine.
  • Have an M.D. degree from an LCME-accredited medical school within the United States, Puerto Rico or Canada; a D.O. degree from an AOA-accredited school of osteopathy; or a valid ECFMG certificate. Graduates of Canadian medical schools must hold an LMCC Certificate.
  • Have passed the USMLE/COMLEX examinations. USMLE/COMLEX Step 3 is required prior to entering the fellowship.
  • Consent to, and pass, a background check.

Application Process

All applicants should register with SF Match. To found out more about the SF Match, please click on the link below. You will be asked to upload your CV, personal statement, and 3 letters of recommendation. Please note that you must have taken and passed USMLE Step 3 to be eligible to apply.

Important Dates

January 15 — Registration opens

March 31 — Application deadline

June 17 — SF match date

Visit SF Match

Candidates must become a "candidate member" of the ASTS by completing the online application through the ASTS website. A link to the application can be found on the Information for Fellows in Training page.

The selection committee will meet in early April and we will communicate with all candidates whether they have been selected for an interview.

If you have additional questions regarding the application process, then please e-mail or call 303-724-2822.

Please refer to the Graduate Medical Education website at the University of Colorado School of Medicine to review the requirements for fellowship.

Thank you,
Trevor L. Nydam, MD
Associate Professor of Transplant Surgery Program
Director of the Transplant Surgery Fellowship Program

Hunter Moore, MD, Ph.D

Hunter Moore, MD, PhD

Medical school: University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont

Residency: General Surgery, University of Colorado, Aurora, Colorado

Dr. Moore received his undergraduate degree in Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology from the University of Colorado. He went on to medical school at the University of Vermont where he graduated AOA in 2011; he then joined the General Surgery Residency program here at the University of Colorado. During his residency, Dr. Moore did three years of research on a NIH T32 grant and also completed a Ph.D. in Clinical Science from the Colorado Clinical and Translation Institute during residency.

Dr. Moore is the recipient of many awards including the American Society of Transplant Surgeons Veloxis Fellow Award, the Surgical Infectious Society Foundation Clinical Research Training Fellowship, and the Jack A. Barney Award at the Southwestern Surgical Congress. He has won the Department of Surgery Ben Eiseman Research Award four times since 2015, and he received the Frederick Grover Research Award in 2019.

Dr. Moore has a total of 100 peer-reviewed publications, 31 of which are first-authored, as well as 14 book chapters.

Hillary Yaffe, MD

Hillary Yaffe, MD

Medical School: Sackler School of Medicine New York State/American Program, Tel Aviv, Israel

Residency: General Surgery, Albert Einstein College of Medicine/Montefiore Medical Center, Bronx, NY

Dr. Yaffe attended medical school at the Sackler School of Medicine New York State/American Program at Tel Aviv University. She graduated in May 2011 and began her general surgery residency training at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine/Montefiore Medical Center in the Bronx, New York, in July 2011. Between her second and third years of residency, she completed a two-year basic science research experience, studying hepatocyte transplant in rodent models of human liver pathology. Simultaneously, she completed several clinical research projects with the Department of Transplantation at Montefiore Medical Center, and presented her work at the American Society of Transplant Surgeons, World Transplant Congress, and American Transplant Congress meetings. Dr. Yaffe completed her general surgery training in June 2018 and joined the University of Colorado Division of Transplant Surgery as a fellow in August 2018. She is thrilled and honored to have joined such an outstanding department, and she, her husband, Matthew, their twins, Ayelet and Benjamin, and dog, D'vash, are excited about this new chapter in their lives.

In chronological order...

  • Tom Bak, MD (1998-2000)
  • Kellee Slater, MD (2002-2004)
  • Richard Hendrickson, MD (2003-2004)
  • William Bennet, MD (2005-2007)
  • Paul Jeffery Campsen, MD (2008-2010)
  • Trevor Nydam, MD (2010-2012)
  • Jonathan Roach, MD (2011-2013)
  • Esam Aboutaleb, MD (2012-2014)
  • Thomas Chirichella, MD (2013-2015)
  • Kendra D. Conzen, MD (2014-2015)
  • Thomas Pshak, MD (2015-2017)
  • Megan Adams, MD (2015-2017)
  • Muhammad Arsalan Khan, MD (2017-2018)
  • Amir Dagan, MD (2017-2019)

Dr. Kendra Conzen is the head of the clinical rotation (SURG 8030) in Transplant Surgery, where she teaches a 2-4 week course of multidisciplinary exposure to all aspects of transplant surgery and medicine. We welcome both medical students from the University of Colorado and all external medical students who have the desire to learn the dynamics of transplant surgery.

How to apply for the Visiting Student Application Service (VSAS) application:

  • Student Users: Your medical school must issue you authorizations before you may log in to VSAS. You will be notified of these authorizations by email. If you have not received this email, please contact your medical school with this authorization request.
  • Institution Users: Your institution must create a user account for you before you can log in to VSAS. If you have not received an email with login instructions, please contact your institution's primary contact with your request.

To log in with an access code, go to and apply.

Please visit the VSAS website for additional application requirements and information.



Contact Karina Garlington:
Office Phone: 303-724-6405
Fax: 303-724-6409