Faculty



A principal aim of the RNA Bioscience Initiative is to foster a collaborative community that supports RNA research within a diverse, multidisciplinary group of scientists and physicians.

The RBI draws its faculty primarily from the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus– School of Medicine, School of Dental Medicine and Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. These faculty comprise investigators from 11 different departments and 16 divisions. In addition, a small number of RBI faculty are drawn from other institutions, including CU Boulder, CU Denver, CSU, National Jewish Health, Metropolitan State University of Denver, and Loyola Marymount University.

To join the RBI faculty, please contact David Bentley, RBI co-director, at david.bentley@cuanschutz.edu.

School of Medicine

Other Schools at the CU Anschutz Medical Campus

Other Universities/Institutions

All RBI Faculty, A - Z

Faculty Name
University/CampusSchoolDepartment/DivisionE-mail Address
Lab Website
Scott Alper, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineImmunology and Microbiologyalpers@njhealth.orgAlper Lab
Tom Anchordoquy, PhDCU AnschutzPharmacy/Phamaceutical SciencesPhamaceutical Sciencestom.anchordoquy@cuanschutz.eduTom Anchordoquy Research
Steven Anderson, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePathologysteve.anderson@ucdenver.eduAnderson Lab
Bruce Appel, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePediatrics/Developmental Biologybruce.appel@cuanschutz.eduAppel Lab
Kristin Artinger, PhDCU AnschutzDental MedicineOral and Craniofacial BiologyKristin.artinger@cuanschutz.eduArtinger Lab
Yael Aschner, MDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Pulmonary Sciences & Critical Careyael.aschner@cuanschutz.eduYael Aschner Research
Rocky Baker, PharmDCU AnschutzMedicineImmunology and Microbiologyrocky.baker@cuanschutz.eduRocky Baker Research
Linda Barlow, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineCDBlinda.barlow@cuanschutz.eduLinda Barlow Research
David Barton, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineImmunology and Microbiologydavid.barton@cuanschutz.eduDavid Barton Research
Richard Benninger, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineCenter for Bioengineeringrichard.benninger@cuanaschutz.eduBenninger Lab
David Bentley, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineBMGdavid.bentley@cuanschutz.eduBentley Lab
Joshua Black, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePharmacologyjoshua.c.black@cuanschutz.eduBlack Lab
Joe Brzezinski, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Ophthalmologyjoseph.brzezinski@cuanschutz.eduBrzezinski Lab
Matthew Burchill, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Gastroenterology and HepatologyMatthew.burchill@cuanschutz.eduBurchill Lab
Eric Clambey, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Anesthesiologyeric.clambey@cuanschutz.eduClambey Lab
Randall Cohrs, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Neurologyrandall.cohrs@cuanschutz.eduRandall Cohrs Research (click and scroll down)
Adela Cota-Gomez, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Pulmonary Sciences & Critical Careadela.cota-gomez@cuanschutz.eduCota-Gomez Lab
Howard Davidson, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePediatrics/BDChoward.davidson@cuanschutz.eduHoward Davidson Research
Richard Davis, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineBMGrichard.davis@cuanschutz.eduDavis Lab
Peter Dempsey, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePediatrics/Developmental Biologypeter.dempsey@cuanschutz.eduPeter Dempsey Research
James Dylewski, DOCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Nephrologyjames.dylewski@cuanschutz.eduJames Dylewski Research
Patricia Ernst, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePediatrics/Hematology and Oncologypatricia.ernst@cuanschutz.eduErnst Lab
Thomas Evans, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineCDBtom.evans@cuanschutz.eduTom Evans Research
Katherine Fantauzzo, PhDCU AnschutzDental MedicineOral and Craniofacial BiologyKatherine.fantauzzo@cuanschutz.eduFantauzzo Lab
Megan Filbin, PhDMetropolitan State University of DenverCollege of Letters, Arts and SciencesChemistry and Biochemistrymfilbin1@msudenver.eduFilbin Lab
Heide Ford, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePharmacologyheide.ford@cuanschutz.eduFord Lab
Rachel Friedman, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineImmunology and Microbiologyrachel.s.friedman@cuanschutz.eduRachel Friedman Research
Austin Gillen, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Hematologyaustingillen@gmail.comAustin Gillen Research
Berenice Gitomer, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Nephrologyberenice.gitomer@cuanschutz.eduBerenice Gitomer Research
Eva Grayck, MDCU AnschutzMedicinePediatrics/Critical CareEva.nozik@cuanschutz.eduJames Hagman Research
James Hagman, PhDNational Jewish Health Immunology and Genomic Medicinehagmanj@njhealth.orgHansen Lab
Kirk Hansen, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineBMGKirk.hansen@cuanschutz.eduHesselberth Lab
Jay Hesselberth, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineBMGJAY.HESSELBERTH@CUANSCHUTZ.EDUJoan Hooper Research
Joan Hooper, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineCDBjoan.hooper@cuanschutz.eduHsieh Lab
Elena Hsieh, MDCU AnschutzMedicinePediatrics/Allergy and Immunologyelena.hsieh@cuanzchutz.eduHughes Lab
Ethan Hughes, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineCDBethan.hughes@cuanschutz.eduJagannathan Lab
Sujatha Jagannathan, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineBMGsujatha.jagannathan@cuanschutz.eduJohnson Lab
Aaron Johnson, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineBMGaaron.m.johnson@CUAnschutz.eduKabos Lab
Peter Kabos, MDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Oncologypeter.kabos@cuanschutz.eduRoss Kedl Research
Ross Kedl, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineImmunology and Microbiologyross.kedl@cuanschutz.eduKieft Lab
Jeffrey Kieft, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineBMGjeffrey.kieft@cuanschutz.eduMelanie Koenigshoff Research
Melanie Koenigshoff, MD, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Pulmonary Sciences & Critical CareMelanie.koenigshoff@cuanschutz.eduKumar Lab
T. Rajendra Kumar, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineOB/GYNraj.kumar@cuanschutz.eduLaurel Lenz Research
Laurel Lenz, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineImmunology and Microbiologylaurel.lenz@cuanschutz.eduHong Li Research
Hong Li, PhDCU AnschutzDental MedicineOral and Craniofacial Biologyhong.li@cuanschutz.eduTraci Lyons Research
Traci Lyons, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Oncologytraci.lyons@cuanschutz.eduSandy Martin Research
Sandy Martin, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineCDBsandy.martin@cuanschutz.eduMartin McCarter Research
Martin McCarter, MDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Surgery-Surgical OncologyMartin.mccarter@cuanschutz.eduMcKinsey Lab
Timothy McKinsey, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Cardiologytimothy.mckinsey@cuanschutz.eduMcMurray Lab
Michael McMurray, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineCDBmichael.mcmurray@ucdenver.eduTem Morrison Research
Tem Morrison, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineImmunology and MicrobiologyTHOMAS.MORRISON@CUANSCHUTZ.EDUMosimann Lab
Christian Mosimann, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePediatrics/Developmental Biologychristian.mosimann@cuanschutz.eduKaren Moulton Research
Karen Moulton, MDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Cardiologykaren.moulton@cuanschutz.eduMouzakis Lab
Kathryn Mouzakis, PhDLoyola Marymount UniversityCollege of Science and EngineeringChemistry and Biochemistrykathryn.mouzakis@lmu.eduMukherjee Lab
Neelanjan Mukherjee, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineBMGneelnajan.mukherjee@cuanschutz.eduNichols Lab
James  Nichols, PhDCU AnschutzDental MedicineOral and Craniofacial Biologyjames.nichols@cuanschutz.eduNishimura Lab
Erin Nishimura, PhDCSUCollege of Natural SciencesBiochemistry & Molecular Biologyerinnish@colostate.eduNiswander Lab
Lee Niswander, PhDCU BoulderCollege of Arts & SciencesMCDBLee.Niswander@colorado.eduEva Nozik Research
Chad Pearson, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineCDBChad.Pearson@cuanschutz.eduPearson Lab
Eric Pietras, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Hematologyeric.pietras@cuanschutz.eduPietras Lab
J. David Port, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Cardiologydavid.port@cuanschutz.eduPort Lab
Rytis Prekeris, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineCDBrytis.prekeris@ucdenver.eduPrekeris Lab
Srinivas Ramachandran, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineBMGsrinivas.ramachandran@cuanschutz.eduRamachandran Lab
Tania Reis, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Endocrinologytania.reis@cuanschutz.eduTania Reis Research
Marino Resendiz, PhDCU DenverCollege of Liberal Arts & SciencesChemistrymarino.resendiz@ucdenver.eduResendiz Lab
Diego Restrepo, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineCDBdiego.restrepo@cuanschutz.eduRestrepo Lab
Jennifer Richer, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePathologyjennifer.richer@cuanschutz.eduRicher Lab
Olivia Rissland, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineBMGolivia.rissland@gmail.comRissland Lab
Holger Russ, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePediatrics/BDCHolger.russ@cuanschutz.eduRuss Lab
Mario Santiago, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Infectious Diseasemario.santiago@cuanschutz.eduMario Santiago Research
Stephen Santoro, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePediatrics/Developmental Biologystephen.santoro@cuanschutz.eduStephen Santoro Research
Carol Sartorius, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePathologyCarol.Sartorius@cuanschutz.eduSartorius Lab
Rebecca Schweppe, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Endocrinologyrebecca.schweppe@cuanschutz.eduRebecca Schweppe Research
Yiqun Shellman, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Dermatologyyiqun.shellman@cuanschutz.edYiqun Shellman Research
Matthew Sikora, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePathologymatthew.sikora@cuanschutz.eduSikora Lab
Lori Sussel, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePediatrics/BDClori.sussel@cuanschutz.eduSussel Lab
Matthew Taliaferro, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineBMGMatthew.taliaferro@cuanschutz.eduTaliaferro Lab
Beth Tamburini, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Gastroenterology and Hepatologybeth.tamburini@cuanschutz.eduTamburini Lab
Matt Taylor, MD, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Cardiologymatthew.taylor@cuanschutz.eduMatthew Taylor Research
Linda van Dyk, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineImmunology and Microbiologylinda.vandyk@cuanschutz.eduLinda van Dyk Research
Sujatha Venkataraman, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePediatrics/Hematology and Oncologysujatha.venkataraman@cuanschutz.eduSujatha Venkataraman Research
M. Natalia Vergara, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Ophthalmologynatalia.vergara@cuanschutz.eduNatalia Vergara Research
Rajeev Vibhakar, MD, PhDCU AnschutzMedicinePediatrics/Hematology and Oncologyrajeev.vibhakar@cuanschutz.eduRajeev Vibhakar Research
Quentin Vicens, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineBMGquentin.vicens@cuanschutz.eduQuentin Vicens Research
Beat Vogeli, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineBMGbeat.vogeli@cuanschutz.eduVogeli Lab
Mary Weiser-Evans, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineMedicine/Nephrologymary.weiser-evans@cuanschutz.eduMary Weiser-Evans Research
Trevor Williams, PhDCU AnschutzDental MedicineOral and Craniofacial Biologytrevor.williams@cuanschutz.eduTrevor Williams Research
Tuoqi Wu , PhDCU AnschutzMedicineImmunology and MicrobiologyTUOQI.WU@CUANSCHUTZ.EDUTuoqi Wu Research
Gongyi Zhang, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineImmunology and Microbiologygongyi.zhang@cuanschutz.eduGongyi Zhang Research
Rui Zhao, PhDCU AnschutzMedicineBMGrui.zhao@cuanschutz.eduZhao Lab