The CUSOM Maintenance of Certification Portfolio Approval Program was established to assist physicians in meeting the requirements the Part IV, the assessment of practice performance requirement.

In 2000, the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) and its 24-member specialty boards implemented the Maintenance of Certification program and in 2009 more detailed standards were approved.  The new standards were based on the Six Core Competencies for Quality Patient Care and were broken 4 distinct pieces:

Part I: Licensure and professional standing

Part II: Lifelong learning and self-assessment

Part III: Cognitive Expertise

Part IV: Assessment of practice performance

These four components serve as a framework for physicians to demonstrate their ongoing professional development.  While the specific requirements of each specialty board vary, each works within the four-part framework.  Each has its own specific requirements, options for meeting the requirements and timeframes to meet the requirements.  Each specialty certification lasts between 2 and 5 years.

For more detailed information about the MOC requirements please visit the ABMS Specialty Boards or your sub-specialty site.   

Contact Us

Maggie Sommers
Program Manager
13001 East 17th Place, C-295
Aurora CO 80045