Faculty Research Interests

Research Director: Adit Ginde, MD, MPH (Adit.Ginde@cuanschutz.edu)
Research Assistant Coordinator: Lani Finck (Lani.Finck@cuanschutz.edu)

* Faculty member likely to have active research projects
+ Project with active grant funding
Faculty MemberResearch Interests
Vik Bebarta, MD*
Vikhyat.Bebarta@cuanschutz.edu 
Marian (Emmy) Betz, MD, MPH* Marian.Betz@cuanschutz.edu
Barbara Blok, MD
Barbara.Blok@cuanschutz.edu
  • Wilderness medicine
Kelly Bookman, MD*
Kelly.Bookman@cuanschutz.edu
  • Electronic health record/clinical informatics
  • Ethics and professionalism
  • Operations/Administration
Vaughn Browne, MD, PhD
Vaughn.Browne@cuanschutz.edu
  • High altitude physiology
  • Ultrasound
Emilie Calvello Hynes, MD, MPH
Emilie.CalvelloHynes@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Global health
  • Lead for Global Emergency Care Initiative
  • Emergency care system development for LMICs
  • EM operations solutions for low resource settings
Dickson Cheung, MD, MBA, MPH
Dickson.Cheung@cuanschutz.edu
  • Digital Health Innovation/Telemedicine
  • Quality and safety
  • ED Operations
  • Global Health
Richard “Todd” Clark, MD
Richard.Clark@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Quality Improvement
  • ED Operations
Tracy Cushing, MD, MPH
Tracy.Cushing@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Wilderness medicine
Chris Davis, MD*
Chris.Davis@cuanschutz.edu
  • High altitude medicine/hypoxia
  • Adenosine pathways in acclimatization
  • Wilderness medicine
  • Telemedicine/virtual health
Julia Dixon, MD, MPH*
Julia.Dixon@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Global health
  • Education Director for Global Emergency Care Initiative
  • Emergency care system development for LMICs
Jeffrey Druck, MD*
Jeffrey.Druck@cuanschutz.edu
  • Medical education
  • Asthma
  • Patient assessment of emergency care
  • Diversity projects
Benjamin Easter, MD, MBA
Benjamin.Easter@cuanschutz.edu
  • Space Medicine
  • Isolated, Confined, and Extreme Environments
  • Engineering and Medicine
Alex Ebinger, MD
Alexander.Ebinger@cuanschutz.edu
  • Sports medicine
  • Musculoskeletal ultrasound
  • Medical education
Col. Kathleen Flarity, NP
Kathleen.Flarity@cuanschutz.edu
  • Critical Care
  • Military medicine
Loren “Keith” French, MD
Loren.French@cuanschutz.edu
  • Medical Toxicology

Adit Ginde, MD, MPH*
Adit.Ginde@cuanschutz.edu
Foster Goss, DO, MMSc*
Foster.Goss@cuanschutz.edu 
Todd Guth, MD
Todd.Guth@cuanschutz.edu
  • Medical education
  • Team communication in emergency medicine
  • Assessment of clinical skills (physical exam, communication)
  • Clinical reasoning
Ben Hatten, MD, MPH*
Benjamin.Hatten@cuanschutz.edu
  • Multicenter toxicology+
  • Epidemiology of drug related death
  • Clinical polices/guideline development
  • Marijuana and drug abuse
Kennon Heard, MD, PhD*
Kennon.Heard@cuanschutz.edu
 
  • Prescription opioid abuse+
  • Cardiovascular poisoning
  • Geriatric EM
  • Drugs of abuse
  • Acetaminophen poisoning
Jason Hoppe, DO*
Jason.Hoppe@cuanschutz.edu 
 
Chris Hoyte, MD*
Chris.Hoyte@cuanschutz.edu
  • Sudden cardiac death
  • Toxicity of performance-enhancing drugs
  • Drug interactions/toxicology
Bonnie Kaplan, MD
Bonnie.Kaplan@cuanschutz.edu
  • Medical education
  • Gender difference in education
  • Medical student mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Innovative Curriculum Design
Jay Lemery, MD*
John.Lemery@cuanschutz.edu
  • Wilderness medicine
  • Climate change and human health+
  • Health and human rights
Anne Libby, PhD*
Anne.Libby@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Patient valuation of health care+
  • Gender differences in leadership/team communication
  • Professional development, leadership and mentoring
Daniel Lindberg, MD*
Daniel.Lindberg@cuanschutz.edu
Charlie Little, DO
Charles.Little@cuanschutz.edu
  • Disaster and pandemic flu preparedness and response
  • Global public health and disasters
  • Cardiac arrest
Steven Lowenstein, MD, MPH
Steven.Lowenstein@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Injury epidemiology and public health
  • Survey research
  • Medical education
Marlisa Mann, MD
Marlisa.Mann@cuanschutz.edu
  • Women's health
  • Health equity
  • Diversity and inclusion
Katherine Mayer, MD
Katherine.Mayer@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Critical Care
  • Post-cardiac arrest care
  • Palliative care
Christopher McStay, MD
Christopher.McStay@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Clinical operations
  • Wilderness medicine
  • Disaster preparedness
  • Patient safety and quality
Sarah Michael, DO, MS
Sarah.Michael@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Use of technology in medical education
  • Curriculum development
  • Evaluation and assessment
Sean Michael, MD, MBA
Sean.Michael@cuanschutz.edu 
  • ED operations
  • Quality and patient safety
  • Analytics, informatics, and provider behavior change (especially around opioid prescribing)
Andrew Monte, MD*
Andrew.Monte@cuanschutz.edu
Martin Musi, MD
Martin.Musi@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Wilderness medicine
  • Medical education
Nee-Kofi Mould-Millman, MD*
Nee-Kofi.Mould-Millman@cuanschutz.edu 
Kristen Nordenholz, MD, MSc*
Kristen.Nordenholz@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Venous thromboembolism
  • Anti-coagulation
  • Clinical algorithms
  • Provider wellness
Michael Overbeck, MD
Michael.Overbeck@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Asynchronous medical education
  • Emergency cardiology
Sarah Perman, MD, MS*
Sarah.Perman@cuanschutz.edu
Elaine Reno, MD
Elaine.Reno@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Acute mountain sickness
  • Medical education
  • Wilderness education
Matthew Salzberg, MD
Matthew.Salzberg@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Administration fellowship
  • ED operations
  • Process improvement
Fred Severyn, MD*
Fred.Severyn@cuanschutz.edu
  • Prehospital care/EMS
  • Trauma management
  • Emergency airway
Marianne Wallis, MD
Marianne.Wallis@cuanschutz.edu
  • ARDS
  • Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation
  • Obstetric emergencies and critical care
Jacqueline Ward-Gaines, MD
Jacqueline.WardGaines@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Disaster medicine
  • Diversity and Inclusion
Jennifer Wiler, MD, MBA*
Jennifer.Wiler@cuanschutz.edu
  • ED operations
  • EM health policy
  • Quality/patient safety
Danny Willner, MD, MPH
Daniel.Willner@cuanschutz.edu
  • EMS
Juliana Wilson, DO, MPH
Juliana.Wilson@cuanschutz.edu
  • Point-of-care ultrasound
  • Community health workers in the ED
Christina Yannetsos, MD
Christina.Yannetsos@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Concussion
  • Injury Prevention/Sports Medicine
  • Victims of Abuse in the ED
David Young, MD, MS, MS
David.S.Young@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Wilderness medicine
  • Race medicine
  • Disaster relief
Richard Zane, MD*
Richard.Zane@cuanschutz.edu
  • Disaster preparedness
  • ED operations
  • EM health policy
Matthew Zuckerman, MD
Matthew.Zuckerman@cuanschutz.edu 
  • Social media in medical education
  • Obesity
  • Toxicology

Research Director: Jason Haukoos, MD, MSc (Jason.Haukoos@dhha.org)
Research Administrators: Emily Caruso (Emily.Caruso@dhha.org); Alicia Cupelo (Alicia.Cupelo@dhha.org)

* Faculty member likely to have active research projects
+ Project with active grant funding

 Faculty Member Research Interests
Katie Bakes, MD*
Katherine.Bakes@dhha.org 
  • Violence Prevention+
  • At-Risk Youth
  • Gun Violence
  • Diversity in Healthcare
  • Medical Career Pipeline Programs
  • Community Outreach
Whitney Barrett, MD
Whitney.Barrett@dhha.org 
  • Paramedic Education
  • Prehospital Communications
  • Ketamine for Excited Delirium
Jennifer Bellows, MD, MPH
Jennifer.Bellows@dhha.org 
  • Global Health Education 
  • Ethics in Global Health
  • Global Health Policy
Michael Breyer, MD
Michael.Breyer@dhha.org 
  • Clinical Operations
  • Patient Experience
  • Learner and Provider Feedback
Kerry Broderick, MD*
Kerry.Broderick@dhha.org 
  • SBIRT
  • Injury Prevention
  • Opioid Risk Reduction
Jennie Buchanan, MD*
Jennie.Buchanan@dhha.org 
  • Graduate Medical Education
  • Medical Toxicology
  • Sexual Assault Care+
  • Forensic Medicine
  • Radiation Exposure
Richard Byyny, MD, MSc*
Richard.Byyny@dhha.org 
  • Clinical Decision Making
  • Educational Interventions
Richard Dart, MD, PhD*
Richard.Dart@rmpdc.org
  • Acetaminophen poisoning+
  • Snake envenomation+
  • Abuse resistant opioids+
  • Drugs safety+
Aaron Eberhardt, MD
Aaron.Eberhardt@dhha.org 
  • EMS
  • EMS Education
Anna Engeln, MD
Anna.Engeln@dhha.org 
  • Bedside Clinical Teaching
  • Resident Education
Morgan Eutermoser, MD
Morgan.Eutermoser@cuanschutz.edu 
  • NurseLine
  • Telemedicine
  • Innovative Healthcare
  • Wellness

Mark Getzoff, MD
Mark.Getzoff@dhha.org
  • Pediatrics
Sasha Gubser, MD
Sasha.Gubser@dhha.org
  • Pediatrics
Rachel Gutmann, MD
Rachel.Gutmann@dhha.org
  • Pediatrics
Jason Haukoos, MD, MSc*
Jason.Haukoos@dhha.org 
  • Cardiac arrest+
  • Trauma+
  • EMS+
  • Infectious Diseases Prevention (HIV/HCV)+
  • Research Methodology /Applied Statistics and Modelling
  • Epidemiology
  • Health Services Research
Karen Honig, MD
Karen.Honig@dhha.org
  • Pediatrics
Katherine Hurlbut, MD
Katherine.Hurlbut@dhha.org 
  • Opioid Abuse
  • Medical Toxicology
Janetta Iwanicki, MD
Janetta.Iwanicki@dhha.org
  • Medical Toxicology
  • Prescription Opioid Abuse
  • Cannabis Use and Related Illnesses
  • Prehospital Care of the Poisoned Patient
John Kendall, MD*
John.Kendall@dhha.org 
  • Ultrasound+
  • Education
Eric Lavonas, MD, MSc
Eric.Lavonas@dhha.org 
  • Snake Envenomation
  • Resuscitation
  • Medication Safety
  • Carbon Monoxide Poisoning
Keri Mason, MD
Kerri.Mason@dhha.org 
  • Medical Education
Taylor McCormick, MD, MSc
Taylor.McCormick@dhha.org
  • Prehospital Trauma Triage of Children+
  • Care of Children in Community Emergency Departments
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
Kevin McVaney, MD
Kevin.Mcvaney@dhha.org 
  • EMS
  • EMS Education
  • Sedation of Agitated Patients
Manuel R. “Manny” Montano
Manuel.Montano@denverem.org 
  • Medical Education
  • Medical Student Mentoring/Guidance
  • Bedside Clinical Education
  • Procedural Education
Maria Moreira, MD
Maria.Moreira@dhha.org 
  • Education
  • Wound Management
  • Trauma
  • Communication and Leadership
  • Simulation
Jacob Nacht, MD
Jacob.Nacht2@dhha.org 
  • Emergency Medical Services
  • Wilderness Medicine
Lara Rappaport, MD
Lara.Rappaport@denverem.org 
  • Pediatric EMS
  • Medication Errors
David Richards, MD
David.Richards@dhha.org 
  • Medical Student Education
  • Global Health
Bradley Shy, MD
Bradley.Shy@dhha.org 
  • Patient Safety
  • Clinical Operations
  • Patient Experience Methodology
Kristine Rodrigues, MD
Kristine.Rodrigues@dhha.org 
  • Pediatrics
  • Access to Care for Refugee and Non-English, Non-Spanish Speaking (NENS) Patients
  • Biostatistics
Genie Roosevelt, MD, MPH
Genie.Roosevelt@dhha.org 
  • Impact of Marijuana Legislation on Pediatric Patients
  • Evaluation and Management of Pediatric Trauma Patients
  • Efficacy of Different Sedation Regimens for Pediatric Patients in the ED
Matthew Rustici, MD
Matthew.Rustici@dhha.org 
  • Pediatrics
  • Medical Education
Jeff Sankoff, MD
Jeffrey.Sankoff@dhha.org 
  • Quality Improvement
  • Clinical Operations
Lee Shockley, MD, MBA
Lee.Shockley@dhha.org 
  • Clinical Operations / Business of Medicine
  • Medical Education
  • Trauma
Gannon Sungar, DO
Gannon.Sungar@dhha.org 
  • Medical Education
  • Knowledge Translation
  • Health Policy
Molly Thiessen, MD
Molly.Thiessen@dhha.org 
  • Emergency Ultrasound
  • Education
Amanda Toney, MD
Amanda.Toney@dhha.org 
  • Pediatric Point-of-Care Ultrasound
  • EMS Point-of-Care Ultrasound
  • Urgent Care Point-of-Care Ultrasound
Stacy Trent, MD*
Stacy.Trent@dhha.org 
  • Health Services Research -- Variation in Care, Guideline Adherence, Quality Improvement, Health Disparities
  • Sepsis+
  • Cannabis Abuse and Blunt Trauma+
  • Research Methodology
Guy Upshaw, MD
Guy.Upshaw@dhha.org
  • Pediatrics
Jody Vogel, MD, MS*
Jody.Vogel@dhha.org
  • Trauma
  • Healthcare Access and Utilization+
  • Health Services Research
  • Research Methodology
Stephen Wolf, MD
Stephen.Wolf@dhha.org
  • Clinical Policies / Guidelines
  • Leadership Competencies and Curriculums
  • Medical Education
  • Venous Thromboembolism
  • Chest Trauma
  • Blast Injuries

 

Director of Research: Rakesh Mistry, MD, MS (Rakesh.Mistry@childrenscolorado.org)
Research Coordinator: Kathleen Grice (Kathleen.Grice@childrenscolorado.org)
Research Administrator: Mindy Gratny (Mindy.Gratny@childrenscolorado.org)

* Faculty member likely to have active research projects
+ Project with active internal or extramural grant funding

All emails: firstname.lastname@childrenscolorado.org
Faculty MemberResearch Interests
Kathleen Adelgais, MD, MPH*+
  • EMS
  • Multisystem trauma
  • Pediatric pain management 
Michelle Alletag, MD
 
  • Simulation
Lilliam Ambroggio, MPH, PhD*+
 
  • Biomarkers
  • Respiratory Infections
  • Diagnostic Evaluation
Lalit Bajaj, MD, MPH*+
  • QI/Clinical Effectiveness
  • Bronchiolitis
Kevin Carney, MD
  • Quality improvement
Joe Grubenhoff, MD, MSCS*+
  • Diagnostic Error
  • Concussion
Maya Haasz, MD
  • Firearm safety
Bernadette Johnson, MD
  • Injury prevention
  • Procedural sedation and analgesia
Patrick Mahar, MD
  • Education and simulation
Maria Mandt, MD
  • Prehospital airway management and capnography
Megan Mickley, MD*
  • Emergency medicine ultrasound
Rakesh Mistry, MD, MS*+
  • Antimicrobial Stewardship
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Multicenter Collaborative Research
Nidhya Navanandan, MD*
  • Biomarkers in Asthma
Tara Neubrand, MD
  • Simulation
  • Video review of Resuscitation
Jonathan Orsborn, MD*
  • Emergency medicine ultrasound
Arleta Rewers, MD, PhD*
  • Acute complications of diabetes
Mark Roback, MD
  • Procedural sedation
Kelley Roswell, MD
  • Education and simulation
Sarah Schmidt, MD
  • Informatics
Halden Scott, MD*+
  • Sepsis
Marion Sills, MD, MPH*
  • Health Services
  • Asthma
Melisa Tanverdi, MD
  • Asthma
Irina Topoz, MD*+
  • Clinical Pathways
  • Diagnostic Error
  • Quality Improvement
Tien Vu, MD
  • Education and simulation

Sam Wang, MD*+
(George.Wang@childrenscolorado.org)

  • Medical toxicology
  • Opioids
  • THC

 

Joseph Wathen, MD
  • Procedural sedation and analgesia
  • Disaster training
Ali Wiersma, MD
  • QI
  • Clinical Pathways
Jason Woods, MD*
  • Medical education
  • Technology-based learning
* Faculty member likely to have active research projects
+ Project with active grant funding
Faculty Member Research Interest
Lauren Abbate, MD*+
Lauren.Abbate@cuanschutz.edu 
VA Eastern Colorado Health Care System
  • Geriatrics
Richard Klasco, MD
Richard.Klasco@cuanschutz.edu
UCHeatlth ED Highlands Ranch
  • Public advocacy
  • Medical communication