

## **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES**

Tuesday, May 16, 2023 10:00 AM Hybrid Meeting

#### **ATTENDANCE**

### **MEMBERS**:

John J. Reilly, Jr., MD, Dean, School of Medicine, and Chair

Venu Akuthota, MD; Merlin Ariefdjohan, PhD, MPH; Maryam Asgari, MD, MPH; Leslie Berg, PhD; Gregary Bocsi, DO, MS; Evalina Burger-Van der Walt, MD; Vineet Chopra, MD, MSc; Julia (Julie) Cooper, PhD; Stephen Daniels, MD, PhD; David DiGregorio, PhD; C. Neill Epperson, MD; Heide Ford, PhD; Casey Greene, PhD; Vesna Jevtovic-Todorovic, MD, PhD, MBA; Brian Kavanagh, MD, MPH; Todd Kingdom, MD; Kevin Lillehei, MD; Wendy Macklin, PhD; Naresh Mandava, MD; Myra Muramoto, MD, MPH; Nanette Santoro, MD; Richard Schulick, MD, MBA; Ann Thor, MD; Richard Zane, MD

#### **GUESTS:**

Majik Abidzhanova, MBA; Susan Ashraf; Gary Brown; Peter Buttrick, MD; Michael Cahill, MS; Thomas Campbell, Karen Chacko, MD; Lauren Collins, MHA; Mark Couch; Katie Dean, MBA; Lotte Dyrbye, MD, MHPE; Ellen Elias, MD; Stephanie Farmer, MHA; Lauren Ford; Shelly Fortner; Anne Fuhlbrigge, MD, MS; Michael Harris-Love, PT, MPT, DSc; Patrick Henn, MD; Michael Jonen; Jimmy Loftin, MBA; Steven Lowenstein, MD, MPH; Venus Mann; Becky McGowan, MBA; John Moore, MBA; Colleen Moya; Chanthy Na; Abraham Nussbaum, MD, MTS; Olawunmi (Wunmi) Ogunwo; Beth Otis; Jason Owens, MPA; Huntington Potter, PhD; Judy Regensteiner, PhD; Marian Rewers, MD, PhD; Suzann Ruedeman; Shilpa Rungta, MD; Liz Seelenfreund; Brian T. Smith, MHA; Suzann Staal; Alexander (AJ) Stein, MBA; Cheryl Welch, MPA

### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

The April 18, 2023, meeting minutes were unanimously approved.

### **DEAN'S UPDATES**

- The Colorado General Assembly completed its annual legislative session on Monday, May 8, 2023. Bills that passed and had been monitored closely by the School of Medicine included HB23-1215, HB23-1243, and SB23-188. While some concerns remain, the amended versions of these bills are less harmful to the School of Medicine than the originally introduced versions. Thanks to everyone who participated in educating our lawmakers.
- A reminder that graduation will be held on Monday, May 22, 2023.
- The School of Medicine is finalizing the 2027 incoming class. May 1st was the deadline for students to make their final decision.

### **DISCUSSION ITEMS**

# Approval of 2023 Medical Student Candidates (see attachment)

The committee unanimously approved the 2023 students for graduation.

**Bridge Funding** -- Peter Buttrick, MD, Senior Associate Dean for Research Affairs See attached slides.

## **Faculty Senate Updates:**

Merlin Ariefdjohan, PhD, MPH, Faculty Senate President, and Assistant Professor of Psychiatry

- Mark Couch presented legislative updates.
- Maureen Leehey, MD, professor emerita of neurology, presented a proposal to promote climate friendly initiatives.
- Bonnie Kaplan, MD, presented an update on LCME accreditation process.

# Affiliate Updates from VA and Denver Health:

Denver Health and Hospital Authority -- Abraham Nussbaum, MD

Thomas Mackenzie, MD, MSPH, is retiring and Read Pierce, MD, from Dell Medical School at the University of Texas at Austin will be replacing him as Chief Quality Officer.

### **Veterans Affairs Eastern Colorado Healthcare System**

No updates due to technical difficulties—updates to be added to the June Meeting.

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

- The faculty promotions committee actions were unanimously approved.
- The clinical appointments and promotions actions were unanimously approved.