

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES

Tuesday, June 20, 2023 10:00 AM Hybrid Meeting

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS:

John J. Reilly, Jr., MD, Dean, School of Medicine, and Chair

Venu Akuthota, MD; Merlin Ariefdjohan, PhD, MPH; Maryam Asgari, MD, MPH; Leslie Berg, PhD; Gregary Bocsi, DO, MS; Evalina Burger-Van der Walt, MD; Vineet Chopra, MD, MSc; Julia (Julie) Cooper, PhD; Stephen Daniels, MD, PhD; Gerald (Chip) Dodd, MD; C. Neill Epperson, MD; Casey Greene, PhD; Vesna Jevtovic-Todorovic, MD, PhD, MBA; Brian Kavanagh, MD, MPH; Michael T. Kilmer; Todd Kingdom, MD; Kevin Lillehei, MD; Wendy Macklin, PhD; Naresh Mandava, MD; Myra Muramoto, MD, MPH; Nanette Santoro, MD; Richard Schulick, MD, MBA; Ron Sokol, MD; Ann Thor, MD; Ken Tyler, MD; Richard Zane, MD

GUESTS:

Majik Abidzhanova, MBA; Lucinda (Cindy) Allen; Scott Arthur; Stephanie Baker; J. Gary Brown; Peter Buttrick, MD; Michael Cahill; Thomas Campbell, MD; Karen Chacko, MD; Jessica Cordova; Mark Couch; Katie Dean, MBA; Mark Dell'Acqua, PhD; Lotte Dyrbye, MD, MHPE; Stephanie Farmer, MHA; Melissa Feig; Lauren Ford; Anne Fuhlbrigge, MD, MS; Michael Harris-Love, PT, MPT, DSc; Michael Jonen; Allison Krebs; Steven Lowenstein, MD, MPH; Venus Mann; Becky McGowan, MBA; John Moore, MBA; Colleen Moya; Chanthy Na; Michael Narkewicz, MD; Abraham Nussbaum, MD, MTS; Olawunmi (Wunmi) Ogunwo, JD; Steve Osswald, MBA; Beth Otis; Jason Owens, MPA; David Port, PhD; Judy Regensteiner, PhD; Marian Rewers, MD, PhD; Shilpa Rungta, MD; Liz Seelenfreund; Nathan Schoppa, PhD; Brian T. Smith, MHA; Alexander (AJ) Stein, MBA; Cheryl Welch, MPA; Duncan Wilcox, MD; Shanta Zimmer, MD

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The May 16, 2023, meeting minutes were unanimously approved.

DEAN'S UPDATES

Yuri Agrawal, MD, MPH, has been named chair of the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, and will be joining us on August 1. We thank Todd Kingdom, MD, who served as interim chair.

Kristyn S. Masters, PhD, has been named chair of the Department of Bioengineering at the University of Colorado Denver and director of the Center for Bioengineering on the Anschutz Medical Campus.

Cathy J. Bradley, PhD, MPA, associate dean of research for Colorado School of Public Health and deputy director of the <u>University of Colorado Cancer Center</u>, has been named dean of the Colorado School of Public Health, effective August 1st.

The 71 members of the Doctor of Physical Therapy Class of 2025 joined the Anschutz Medical Campus with their oath ceremony earlier this month.

The Anschutz Foundation announced that it is giving \$50 million to the Anschutz Medical Campus to conduct a research competition for faculty who are working on medical treatments that can have direct patient impact within five years.

UCHealth announced that it is adding Parkview Hospital in Pueblo effective July 1.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Hybrid PT Program - Colorado Springs - Michael Harris-Love, PT, MPT, DSc. See attached slides.

School of Medicine State Funding Budget Allocations – John Moore, Associate Dean, Admin. & Finance See attached slides.

Faculty Senate Updates:

Merlin Ariefdjohan, PhD, MPH, Faculty Senate President, and Assistant Professor of Psychiatry:

- Mark Couch presented legislative updates.
- Amira del Pino-Jones, MD, from the Office of Diversity and Inclusion gave a timely and informative presentation as we are striving to enhance workforce diversity and retain talent.
- Christine Garver-Apgar, PhD, shared a comprehensive overview of the five divisions operating within the Department of Psychiatry as chaired by Dr. Neal Epperson. We talked about the clinical and research agenda as well as challenges we face.
- The last presentation was by Tyler Anstett, DO, and Anne Fuhlbrigge, MD, who provided an update on the unified communications initiative that will be fully implemented on July 26.

Affiliate Updates from VA and Denver Health:

Veterans Affairs Eastern Colorado Healthcare System

Shilpa Rungta, MD, MBA, chief of staff for the VA Eastern Colorado Healthcare System, presented updates.

Denver Health and Hospital Authority

Abraham Nussbaum, MD, chief education officer, presented updates:

- Today we welcomed the new interns.
- Read Pierce, MD, our new Chief Patient Safety and Quality Officer, started today.
- Search for the director of the Public Health Institute has begun.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

APPROVAL ITEMS

- **A.** The faculty promotions committee actions were unanimously approved.
- **B.** The clinical appointments and promotions actions were unanimously approved.
- **C.** The emeritus/emerita appointments (3) were unanimously approved.