

### **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES**

Tuesday, November 15, 2022 10:00 AM Hybrid Meeting

### **ATTENDANCE**

#### **MEMBERS:**

John J. Reilly, Jr., MD, Dean, School of Medicine, and Chair

Venu Akuthota, MD; Leslie Berg, PhD; Vineet Chopra, MD, MSc; Julie Cooper, PhD; Gerald Dodd, MD; C. Neill Epperson, MD; Heide Ford, PhD; Casey, Greene, PhD; Brian Kavanagh, MD, MPH; Todd Kingdom, MD; Wendy Macklin, PhD; Naresh Mandava, MD; Myra Muramoto, MD, MPH; David Norris, MD; Angie Ribera, PhD; Nanette Santoro, MD; Richard Schulick, MD, MBA; Ann Thor, MD; Ken Tyler, MD; Richard Zane, MD

### **GUESTS:**

Majik Abidzhanova, MBA; Merlin Ariefdjohan, PhD; Cindy Allen; Peter Buttrick, MD; Patricia Balodis; Gregary Bocsi, DO; Suzanne Brandenburg, MD; Gary Brown; Lauren Collins; Jessica Cordova; Mark Couch; Katie Dean; Brian Dwinnell, MD; Lotte Dyrbye, MD, MHPE; Stephanie Farmer; Melissa Feig; Shelly Fortner; Anne Fuhlbrigge, MD; Carolyn Goble; Michael Harris-Love, PT, MPT, DSc; Patrick Henn, MD; Heather Hume; Mike Jonen; Allison Kempe, MD; Allison Krebs; Jimmy Loftin; Steven Lowenstein, MD; Becky McGowan; Kelley McHale; Venus Mann; John Moore; Colleen Moya; Chanthy Na; Michael Narkewicz, MD; Abraham Nussbaum, MD; Olawunmi (Wunmi) Ogunwo, JD; Kyle Osborn; Steve Osswald; Vikas Patel, MD; Cody Rester; Marian Rewers, MD, PhD; Carol Rumack, MD; Shilpa Rungta, MD, MBA; Liz Seelenfreund; Ronald Sokol, MD; Suzann Staal; AJ Stein; Cheryl Welch

### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The September 20, 2022, meeting minutes were unanimously adopted as presented.

#### **DEAN'S UPDATES**

Dean Reilly reported that Dr. David de Gargorio, from the Institute Pastor will succeed Dr. Angie Ribera as the chair of the Physiology and Biophysics. There are two finalists for the chair of Otolaryngology and head neck surgery visiting campus over the next few weeks. The finalist for the chair of Dermatology will be visiting the campus.

Congressman Crow visited campus and had a session on climate change and its impact on health. He will be returning to campus to visit Dr. Vikhyat Bebarta's Combat Research Center.

There was an announcement that UCHealth will be acquiring the Parkview medical system down in Pueblo and will become part of their system. Part of that is a commitment to keep most of the care in Pueblo. There was great concern, that they would lose employment there and services would be moved to Colorado Springs.

School of Medicine and UC Hospital had a joint town wall with the leadership of the hospital. There was discussion on how we embark on our planning to address faculty wellness and the burnout problem we have which is not unique to our adult health faculty. We will be doing something similar in child health.

### **DISCUSSION ITEMS**

#### A. Graduate Medical Education 2021 Annual Institutional Report Executive Summary

Carol Rumack, MD; Associate Dean, Distinguished Professor

See attached slides.

#### B. Campus Research and Office Space

Peter Buttrick, MD; Sr. Associate Dean for Research

See attached slides.

# C. Faculty Senate Updates:

Merlin Ariefdjohan, PhD; Faculty Senate President, and Assistant Professor of Psychiatry

Dr. Ariefdjohan reported that Dr. Reilly provide updates and responded to questions at the last meeting. Dr. Tyler Ansteet, DO who presented on behalf of the curriculum steering committee. He provided information on the 2023 matriculant class, and information about the Unified Communications collaborative Initiative. Wunmi Ogunwo, HR Director and John Moore, Associate Dean of Administration presented information on the salary compression initiative for the university and classified staff.

### D. Affiliate Updates from VA and Denver Health:

### Veterans Affairs Eastern Colorado Healthcare System

Shilpa Rungta, MD, Chief of Staff, Rocky Mountain Regional VA Medical Center

Dr. Rungta reported that the recruitment of Dr. Faisal Siddiqui will be starting mid-December as the Associate Chief of Staff of Education.

There are a lot of leadership positions vacant and the first one we will be anesthesia. We will be reaching out to our chairs at SOM to be involved.

## **Denver Health and Hospital Authority**

Abraham Nussbaum, MD; Chief Education Officer; Patient Safety & Quality

Dr. Nussbaum reported that Anuradha Paranjape, MD, MPH, FACP will be joining Denver Health as Director of Service for Medicine, in May of 2023. In the interim Dr. Michael Hanley will take over as DOS. Dr. Havranek is retiring this month and Dr. Mackenzie our Chief Quality Office will be retiring in May and we have begun recruiting for his position.

Denver Health would like to thank the School of Medicine in particular Dr. Connors in supporting us as we've been flexing some care for the RSV and influenza cases on our pediatric wards.

#### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

### **APPROVAL ITEMS**

**A.** Emeritus Appointment was unanimously approved.