

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES

Tuesday, June 21, 2022 10:00 AM Hybrid Meeting

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS:

John J. Reilly, Jr., MD, Dean, School of Medicine, and Chair

Venu Akuthota, MD; Leslie Berg, PhD; Evalina Burger-Van der Walt, MD; Vineet Chopra, MD, MSc; Julie Cooper, PhD; Stephen Daniels, MD, PhD; Gerald "Chip" Dodd, MD; Heide Ford, PhD; Brian Kavanagh, MD, MPH; Todd Kingdom, MD; Wendy Macklin, PhD; Naresh Mandava, MD; Myra Muramoto, MD, MPH; David Norris, MD; Angie Ribera, PhD; Nanette Santoro, MD; Richard Schulick, MD, MBA; Ron Sokol, MD; Ann Thor, MD; Vesna Todorovic, MD, PhD, MBA; Richard Zane, MD

GUESTS:

Majik Abidzhanova, MBA; Steven Andrews, PhD; Patricia Balodis; Stephanie Baker; Ian H. Black, MD; Suzanne Brandenburg, MD; Peter Buttrick, MD; Thomas Campbell, MD; Karen Chacko, MD; Amy Clevenger, MD, PhD; Jim Costello, PhD; Jessica Cordova; Katie Dean; Mark Dell'Acqua, PhD; Lisolette "Lotte" Dyrbye, MD, MHPE; Ellen Elias, MD; Stephanie Farmer; Melissa Feig; Anne Fuhlbrigge, MD; Lauren Ford; Michael Harris-Love, PT, MPT, DSc; Heather Hume; Mike Jonen; Allison Kempe, MD; Allison Krebs; Alison Lakin, PhD; Jimmy Loftin; Steven Lowenstein, MD, Venus Mann; Michael Miller, John Moore; Chanthy Na; Olawunmi Ogunwo, JD; Kyle Osborn; Connie Savor Price, MD; Liz Seelenfreund; Jeffrey SooHoo, MD; Marian Rewers, MD, PhD; Carol Rumack, MD; Suzann Ruedeman; Alexander "AJ" Stein; Sudheer Vemuru, MD; Cheryl Welch, MPA;

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The May 17, 2022, meeting minutes were unanimously adopted as presented.

DEAN'S UPDATES

The Dean welcomed Heide Ford, PhD, professor, and new chair of the Department of Pharmacology. Dr. Reilly thanked Mark Dell'Acqua, PhD, for serving as the department's interim chair.

The chair searches are ongoing for the departments of Physiology and Biophysics, Radiology, Dermatology, Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, and two center searches. The Physiology and Biophysics and Center for Personalized Medicine are at the finalist stage. The first rounds of campus visits for Radiology have been completed and by next week Dermatology first rounds will be completed. Allison Kempe, MD, MPH, has announced plans to step down from ACCORDS, and Myra Muramoto will chair the search.

Mark Johnston, PhD, former chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, was inducted into the National Academy of Sciences, recognizing his scientific accomplishments. Aimee Bernard, PhD, of the Department of Immunology and Microbiology received the Chase Community Service Award, recognizing in part the "Think like a scientist" program she runs in the Aurora Public Schools. Jonathan Samet, MD, MS, dean of the School of Public Health, has announced that he will step down next academic year. Denise Kassebaum, DDS, MS, dean of the School of Dental Medicine, will lead the search committee for Dr. Samet's successor.

The move into the Anschutz Health Sciences Building has been completed. The Center for Advancing Professional Excellence, moved in a couple of weeks ago. In the coming months, the café will open on the first floor of the building.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Research Informatics Data Inventory

Steven Andrews, PhD, Deputy CRIO, CRIO Council Jim Costello, PhD, associate professor of pharmacology, CRIO Council

See attached slides.

Dr. Andrews updated the committee about the start of the CRIO Council, an advisory body with representatives from each of the schools, and from some administrative units including Security, OIT and from Regulatory and Compliance. A mission of the council is to understand the data ecosystem that exists.

B. Faculty Senate Updates:

Amy Clevenger, MD, PhD, Faculty Senate secretary and associate professor of pediatrics

Dean Reilly provided campus updates, including leadership searches and the opening of the Anschutz Health Sciences Building. Sarah Early, who is executive director of the Colorado Physician Health Program, provided an overview of the program and discussed how to refer individuals and the program's evaluation process. Jeffrey Soohoo, MD, assistant dean of admissions, provided an update on the incoming medical student class, including key demographic data. Dr. Soohoo also provided details on the recruitment and evaluation process for prospective medical students.

C. Affiliate Updates from VA and Denver Health:

Denver Health and Hospital Authority

Connie Savor Price, MD, Chief Medical Officer

Dr. Price reported that the new CEO for Denver Health is Donna Lynne, DrPH, and she joins in August. Dr. Lynne is a former Lieutenant Governor and prior to that, she was with Kaiser. She is currently at Columbia University running one of their medical groups.

Other searches are ongoing. The search for a chief of surgery is progressing to the second round. For a chief of medicine, the goal is to expand the slate of candidates, and to begin scheduling second-round interviews by the end of the month. The search for a chief of family medicine is also progressing.

Veterans Affairs Eastern Colorado Healthcare System

Ian Black, MD, interim Chief of Staff of Education

Dr. Black reported that VA has onboarded about 90 people. There is still a search going on for the chair of the chief of medicine.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

APPROVAL ITEMS

- **A.** The faculty promotions committee actions were unanimously approved.
- **B.** The professor emeritus/emerita requests were unanimously approved.