Women's Health Research Day is an annual celebration of women's health and sex and gender differences research. Typically, researchers from across the Anschutz Medical Campus, the University of Colorado-Boulder, the University of Colorado-Colorado Springs and Colorado State University gather to hear from a national leader in women's health and present their latest findings to peers and senior scientists in a judged poster session.

Due to all events being held virtually at this time, we did not host a poster session this year. However, we encourage all interested researchers to submit a poster to the 2022 National Conference on Women's Health & Sex Differences Research, to be held October 12-14, 2022, at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs. Click here for more information. 

Women in American Healthcare - Problems and Promise

Featuring keynote speaker Patricia Gabow, MD, MACP

Women interact with the healthcare system as recipients and providers of care, yet there is not gender equality in either domain. Women bring unique perspectives and skills to society and healthcare. While women constitute 83% of frontline healthcare workers, they are only 13% of the CEO's. What are the societal and institutional factors at play to create this steep pyramid? Why should it change? How can it be changed?

Gabow headshot

Patricia Gabow, MD, MACP

Dr. Gabow spent her medical career at Denver Health, served as CEO for 20 years, and retired from that position in 2012. She is a professor emerita of medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine and a master of the American College of Physicians. She has authored over 170 articles, book chapters, and books, including The Lean Prescription: Powerful Medicine for Our Ailing Healthcare System, which received the Research Award from the Shingo Prize and her recent book, TIME'S NOW for Women Healthcare Leaders: A Guide to the Journey. She was a founding member of the federal Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission and serves on the Board of Trustees of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the Lown Institute.

She has received numerous awards including the Florence Sabin Award, AMA Nathan Davis Award, the AAMC David E. Rogers Award, the NCQA Health Quality Leader, and the Lienhard Award from the National Academy of Medicine. She is a member of the Manufacturing Excellence Hall of Fame and the National Academy of Social Insurance. She is a graduate of Seton University and the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. She is board certified in Internal Medicine and Nephrology.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2019 poster competition:

Eileen Chang, PhD, M.C.R. “Intrauterine growth restricted ovine fetal skeletal muscle has reduced cell cycle activity corresponding with lower rates of myogenesis”

Sarah Perman, MD , Ludeman Center Scientist, “Public Perceptions on Why Women Receive Less Bystander CPR Than Men in Out of Hospital Cardiac Arrest”

Michael Nash, MD/PhD Candidate “Maternal western style diet persistently alters liver physiology and bone marrow derived immune cell development and function in a non-human primate model of NAFLD”

Katie Marker, MPH, Doctoral student “Breast cancer subtype GWAS in 1,312 Peruvian breast cancer patients”

Natalie Hohos, PhD “High-Fat Diet Is Associated with Ovulatory Defect Regardless of the Development of Obesity”

Ramón Lorca, PhD,  Ludeman Center Scientist, “Effect of AMPK activation on human myometrial artery vasodilation from high-altitude and intrauterine growth-restricted pregnancies”

Marisol Castillo-Castrejon, MSc, PhD “Impact of lipid-based nutrient supplementation on placental mTOR signaling and IGF-1 gene methylation and fetal growth”

Women's Health Research Day Logos