Faculty

Our center is the home for several groups that conduct high quality research on various topics related to medicine and biology. Below is a (growing) list of labs and their faculty members that contribute to the center's mission for advancing medicinal research.

tell-bennett

Tell Bennett, MD

Associate Professor

Tell is the Section Head of Informatics and Data Science in the Department of Pediatrics and the Informatics Director for the Colorado Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute (CCTSI)

Email: tell.bennett@cuanschutz.edu

View Research Lab Website

View CU Profile

brush

Matthew Brush, PhD

Assistant Research Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics

Email: matthew.brush@cuanschutz.edu

View CU Profile

sean

Sean Davis, MD, PhD

Professor

Sean received his BS in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from Princeton University, his MD and PhD from the University of Pittsburgh in the Schools of Medicine and Public Health, respectively. Children's Hospital and Regional Medical Center was where he completed his residency in Pediatrics, followed by pediatric hematology/oncology training in the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine/National Cancer Institute joint fellowship.

Email: sean.2.davis@cuanschutz.edu

View Website

View CU Profile

istockphoto-1223671392-170667a

Shahim Essaid, MD

Assistant Research Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics

Email: shahim.essaid@cuanschutz.edu

View CU Profile

Casey Greene

Casey Greene, PhD

Professor Center Director
Center for Health AI

Casey is a Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics and the founding Director of the Center for Health AI in the University of Colorado School of Medicine. Before starting the Integrative Genomics Lab in 2012, Casey earned his Ph.D. for his study of gene-gene interactions in the field of computational genetics from Dartmouth College in 2009 and moved to the Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics at Princeton University where he worked as a postdoctoral fellow from 2009-2012. The overarching theme of his work has been the development and evaluation of methods that acknowledge the emergent complexity of biological systems.

Email: casey.s.greene@cuanschutz.edu

View Research Lab Website

View CU Profile

melissa

Melissa Haendel, PhD

Professor

Melissa's vision is to fundamentally alter the fabric of biomedical science, utilizing her art as a data translator to weave together healthcare systems, basic science research, and patients; through development of data integration technologies, innovative communication strategies, and collaborative education and outreach. Her demonstrated success in leadership of cross-disciplinary international teams, development of applications used for rare disease diagnostics, implementation of platforms and tools for translational research, and open and reproducible science will serve her and the community at large to effect real change.

Email: melissa.haendel@cuanschutz.edu

View Research Lab Website

View CU Profile

larry

Larry Hunter, PhD

Professor
Director, Computational Bioscience Training Program

My laboratory is currently focused on knowledge-driven extraction of information from the primary biomedical literature, the semantic integration of knowledge resources in molecular biology, and the use of knowledge in the analysis of high-throughput data.

Email: larry.hunter@cuanschutz.edu

View CU Profile

istockphoto-1223671392-170667a

Julie McMurry, MPH

Visiting Associate Research Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics

Email: julie.mcmurry@cuanschutz.edu
istockphoto-1223671392-170667a

Monica Munoz-Torres, PhD

Visiting Associate Research Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics

Email: monica.munoz-torres@cuanschutz.edu
oneil-shawn

Shawn O'Neil, PhD, MS

Assistant Research Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics

Email: shawn.oneil@cuanschutz.edu

View CU Profile

putman

Tim Putman, PhD

Assistant Research Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics

Email: timothy.putman@cuanschutz.edu

View CU Profile

istockphoto-1223671392-170667a

Kent Shefchek, MS

Sr. Instructor, Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics

Email: kent.shefchek@cuanschutz.edu
thessen

Anne Thessen, PhD

Visiting Associate Research Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics

Email: anne.thessen@cuanschutz.edu

View CU Profile

toro

Sabrina Toro, PhD

Sr. Research Instructor, Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics

Email: sabrina.toro@cuanschutz.edu

View CU Profile

Vasilevsky

Nicole Vasilevsky, PhD

Visiting Associate Research Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics

Email: nicole.vasilevsky@cuanschutz.edu

View CU Profile

istockphoto-1223671392-170667a

Anita Walden, MS

Visiting Associate Research Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics

Email: anita.walden@cuanschutz.edu
Way

Gregory Way, PhD

Assistant Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics

Email: gregory.way@cuanschutz.edu

View CU Profile

 

 


 

Administration and Operations

T01T0S9LLBZ-U01TCHEP4P7-f116b01caa4c-512

Audrey Wen

Director of Finance & Administration

audrey.wen@cuanschutz.edu

20210322_151522

Michelle Fiandra

Business and HR Coordinator

michelle.fiandra@cuanschutz.edu

126526568-0069e5a2-288e-49a4-b8bd-8c468fb344a3

Carlos Rodriguez

Business Operations Manager

carlos.rodriguez@cuanschutz.edu

Head_Shot_Heilman-square

Holly Heilman

Research Operations Manager

holly.heilman@cuanschutz.edu

Emma HD

Emma Hulseberg-Dwyer

Grants Specialist

Emma.Hulseberg-Dwyer@cuanschutz.edu

 


 

Software and IT

profile

Vincent Rubinetti

Frontend Developer and UI/UX Designer

vincent.rubinetti@cuanschutz.edu

T01T0S9LLBZ-U026H5D82BF-e10a9421b82f-512

Faisal Alquaddoomi

Backend / Fullstack Developer

faisal.alquaddoomi@cuanschutz.edu